## **Effective 5/3/2023**

## Superseded 5/1/2024

## 58-47b-302 License classifications -- Qualifications for licensure.

- (1) The division shall issue licenses under this chapter in the classifications of:
  - (a) massage therapist;
  - (b) massage apprentice;
  - (c) massage assistant; and
  - (d) massage assistant in-training.
- (2) An applicant for licensure as a massage therapist shall:
  - (a) submit an application in a form prescribed by the division;
  - (b) pay a fee determined by the department under Section 63J-1-504:
  - (c) be 18 years old or older;
  - (d) have either:

(i)

- (A) graduated from a school of massage having a curriculum that meets standards established by division rule made in collaboration with the board and in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act; or
- (B) completed equivalent education and training in compliance with division rule made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act; or
- (ii) completed a massage apprenticeship program consisting of a minimum of 1,000 hours of supervised training over a minimum of 12 months and in accordance with standards established by division rule made in collaboration with the board and in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act; and
- (e) pass:
  - (i) the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination; or
  - (ii) any other examination established by division rule made in collaboration with the board and in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.
- (3) An applicant for licensure as a massage apprentice shall:
  - (a) submit an application in a form prescribed by the division;
  - (b) pay a fee determined by the department under Section 63J-1-504;
  - (c) be 18 years old or older:
  - (d) provide satisfactory evidence to the division that the applicant will practice as a massage apprentice only under the direct supervision of a licensed massage therapist in good standing who, for at least 6,000 hours, has engaged in the lawful practice of massage therapy as a licensed massage therapist; and
  - (e) pass an examination as required by division rule made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.

(4)

- (a) An applicant for licensure as a massage assistant shall:
  - (i) submit an application in a form prescribed by the division;
  - (ii) pay a fee determined by the department in accordance with Section 63J-1-504;
  - (iii) be 18 years old or older;
  - (iv) subject to Subsection (4)(b), complete at least 300 hours of education and training approved by division rule made accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act;
  - (v) provide satisfactory evidence to the division that the applicant will practice as a massage assistant only under the indirect supervision of a massage therapy supervisor; and

- (vi) pass an examination as required by division rule made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.
- (b) The 300-hour education and training requirement described in Subsection (4)(a) shall include:
  - (i) at least 150 hours of education and training while the applicant is:
    - (A) enrolled in massage school; or
    - (B) licensed as a massage assistant in-training and under the direct supervision of a massage therapist in good standing who, for at least 6,000 hours, has engaged in the lawful practice of massage therapy; and
  - (ii) at least 150 hours of education and training while the applicant is:
    - (A) enrolled in massage school; or
    - (B) licensed as a massage assistant in-training and under the indirect supervision of a massage therapist in good standing who, for at least 6,000 hours, has engaged in the lawful practice of massage therapy.
- (5) An applicant for licensure as a massage assistant in-training shall:
  - (a) submit an application in a form prescribed by the division;
  - (b) pay a fee determined by the department in accordance with Section 63J-1-504;
  - (c) be 18 years old or older; and
  - (d) provide satisfactory evidence to the division that the applicant will practice as a massage assistant in-training under the supervision of a massage therapist for a period of no more than six months for the purpose of satisfying the requirements described in Subsections (4)(a)(iv) and (4)(b) for licensure as a massage assistant.

(6)

- (a) A massage therapist may supervise at one time up to six individuals licensed as a massage apprentice or massage assistant in-training.
- (b) A massage therapy supervisor may supervise at one time up to six individuals licensed as a massage assistant.
- (7) A new massage therapist, massage apprentice, massage assistant, or massage assistant intraining applicant shall submit to and pass a criminal background check in accordance with Section 58-47b-302.1 and any requirements established by division rule made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.