Utah Code

Part 2
Requirements

7-24-201 Registration -- Rulemaking.
1)
(a) It is unlawful for a person to extend a title loan in Utah or with a Utah resident unless the
person:
(i) registers with the department in accordance with this chapter; and
(i) maintains a valid registration.
(b) It is unlawful for a person to operate a mobile facility in this state to extend a title loan.
2)
(a) A registration and a renewal of a registration expires on December 31 of each year unless on
or before that date the person renews the registration.
(b) To register under this section, a person shall:
(i) pay an original registration fee established under Subsection 7-1-401(8); and
(ii) submit a registration statement containing the information described in Subsection (2)(d).
(c) To renew a registration under this section, a person shall:
() pay the annual fee established under Subsection 7-1-401(5); and
(i) submit a renewal statement containing the information described in Subsection (2)(d).
(d) A registration or renewal statement shall state:

(i) the name of the person;

(ii) the name in which the business will be transacted if different from that required in
Subsection (2)(d)(i);

(iif) the address of the person's principal business office, which may be outside this state;

(iv) the addresses of all offices in this state at which the person extends title loans;

(v) if the person extends title loans in this state but does not maintain an office in this state, a
brief description of the manner in which the business is conducted;

(vi) the name and address in this state of a designated agent upon whom service of process
may be made;

(vii) disclosure of any injunction, judgment, administrative order, or conviction of any crime
involving moral turpitude with respect to that person or any officer, director, manager,
operator, or principal of that person;

(viii) evidence satisfactory to the department that the person is registered with the nationwide
database; and

(ix) any other information required by the rules of the department.

(e)
(i) The commissioner may impose an administrative fine determined under Subsection (2)(e)(ii)
on a person if:
(A) the person is required to be registered under this chapter;
(B) the person fails to register or renew a registration in accordance with this chapter;
(C) the department notifies the person that the person is in violation of this chapter for failure
to be registered; and
(D) the person fails to register within 30 days after the day on which the person receives the
notice described in Subsection (2)(e)(i)(C).

(ii) Subject to Subsection (2)(e)(iii), the administrative fine imposed under this Subsection (2)(e)

is:
(A) $500 if the person:
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(1) has no office in this state at which the person extends a title loan; or
(I has one office in this state at which the person extends a title loan; or
(B) if the person has two or more offices in this state at which the person extends a title loan,
$500 for each office at which the person extends a title loan.
(iif) The commissioner may reduce or waive a fine imposed under this Subsection (2)(e) if the
person shows good cause.
(3) If the information in a registration or renewal statement required under Subsection (2) becomes
inaccurate after filing, a person is not required to notify the department until:
(a) that person is required to renew the registration; or
(b) the department specifically requests earlier notification.
(4) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the department
may make rules consistent with this section:
(a) providing for the form, content, and filing of a registration and renewal statement; and
(b) providing for the transition of persons registering with the nationwide database.

Amended by Chapter 284, 2015 General Session

7-24-202 Operational requirements for title loans.
(1) A title lender shall:
(a) post in a conspicuous location on its premises that can be viewed by a person seeking a title
loan:
(i) a complete schedule of any interest or fees charged for a title loan that states the interest
and fees:
(A) as dollar amounts; and
(B) as annual percentage rates; and
(ii) a telephone number a person may call to make a complaint to the department regarding a
title loan;
(b) enter into a written contract for the title loan containing:
(i) the name of the person receiving the title loan;
(i) the transaction date;
(iif) the amount of the title loan;
(iv) a statement of the total amount of any interest or fees that may be charged for the title loan,
expressed as:
(A) a dollar amount; and
(B) an annual percentage rate; and
(V)
(A) the name and address of the designated agent required to be provided the department
under Subsection 7-24-201(2)(d)(vi); and
(B) a statement that service of process may be made to the designated agent;
(c) provide the person seeking the title loan a copy of the written contract described in
Subsection (1)(b);
(d) prior to the execution of the title loan:
(i) orally review with the person seeking the title loan the terms of the title loan including:
(A) the amount of any interest rate or fee, expressed as:
(1) a dollar amount; and
(I an annual percentage rate; and
(B) the date on which the full amount of the title loan is due; and
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(ii) provide the person seeking the title loan a copy of the disclosure form adopted by the
department under Section 7-24-203; and
(e) comply with the following as in effect on the date the title loan is extended:
() Truth in Lending Act, 15 U.S.C. Sec. 1601 et seq., and its implementing federal regulations;
(i) Equal Credit Opportunity Act, 15 U.S.C. Sec. 1691, and its implementing federal regulations;
(iif) Bank Secrecy Act, 12 U.S.C. Sec. 1829b, 12 U.S.C. Sec. 1951 through 1959, and 31
U.S.C. Sec. 5311 through 5332, and its implementing regulations; and
(iv)Title 70C, Utah Consumer Credit Code.
(2) If a title lender extends a title loan through the Internet or other electronic means, the title lender
shall:
(a) provide the information described in Subsection (1)(a) to the person receiving the title loan:
(i) in a conspicuous manner; and
(ii) prior to the person entering into the title loan; and
(b) in connection with the disclosure required under Subsection (2)(a), provide a list of states
where the title lender is registered or authorized to offer title loans through the Internet or
other electronic means.
(3) A title lender may not:
(a) rollover a title loan unless the person receiving the title loan requests a rollover of the title
loan;
(b) extend more than one title loan on any vehicle at one time;
(c) extend a title loan that exceeds the fair market value of the vehicle securing the title loan; or
(d) extend a title loan without regard to the ability of the person seeking the title loan to repay the
title loan, including the person's:
() current and expected income;
(ii) current obligations; and
(iif) employment.
(4) A title lender has met the requirements of Subsection (3)(d) if the person seeking a title loan
provides the title lender with a signed acknowledgment that:
(a) the person has provided the title lender with true and correct information concerning the
person's income, obligations, and employment; and
(b) the person has the ability to repay the title loan.

Amended by Chapter 87, 2007 General Session

7-24-203 Disclosure form for title loans.
(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the department
shall adopt a disclosure form for title loans that complies with this section.
(2) The department shall specify by rule:
(a) the information to be provided in the disclosure form including:
() the costs of obtaining a title loan;
(ii) the consequences of defaulting on a title loan;
(iif) generally available alternatives to a title loan; and
(iv) methods of obtaining credit counseling or other financial advice;
(b) the type size of the disclosure form; and
(c) the manner in which a title lender shall conspicuously provide the disclosure form to a person
seeking a title loan.

Amended by Chapter 382, 2008 General Session
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7-24-204 Remedy for default.
Except in the event of fraud by a borrower, if a borrower defaults on a title loan:
(1) the title lender's sole remedy is to seek repossession and sale of the property securing the title
loan;
(2) the title lender may not pursue the borrower personally for:
(a) repayment of the loan; or
(b) any deficiency after repossession and sale of the property securing the loan; and
(3) after repossession and sale of the property securing the title loan, the title lender shall return to
the borrower any proceeds from the sale in excess of the amount owed on the title loan.

Enacted by Chapter 236, 2003 General Session
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