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Part 12
Utah Mortgage Fraud Act

76-6-1201 Title.
          This part is known as the "Utah Mortgage Fraud Act."

Enacted by Chapter 370, 2008 General Session

76-6-1202 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Mortgage lending process" means the process through which a person seeks or obtains a
mortgage loan, including solicitation, application, or origination, negotiation of terms, third-party
provider services, underwriting, signing and closing, and funding of the loan.

(2) "Mortgage loan":
(a) means a loan or agreement made to extend credit to a person when the loan is secured

by a deed, security deed, mortgage, security interest, deed of trust, or other document
representing a security interest or lien upon any interest in one-to-four family residential
property; and

(b) includes the renewal or refinancing of any loan.
(3) "Pattern of unlawful activity" has the same definition as in Section 76-10-1602.
(4) "Sensitive personal identifying information" includes:

(a) the following information regarding an individual's:
(i) Social Security number;
(ii) driver license number or other government issued identification number;
(iii) financial account number or credit or debit card number;
(iv) password or personal identification number or other identification required to gain access to

a financial account or a secure website;
(v) automated or electronic signature; and
(vi) unique biometric data; and

(b) any other information that can be used to gain access to an individual's financial accounts or
to obtain goods or services.

(5) "Value" means the value of the property, money, or thing obtained or sought to be obtained.

Enacted by Chapter 370, 2008 General Session

76-6-1203 Mortgage fraud.
          A person commits the offense of mortgage fraud if the person does any of the following with the

intent to defraud:
(1) knowingly makes any material misstatement, misrepresentation, or omission during the

mortgage lending process, intending that it be relied upon by a mortgage lender, borrower, or
any other party to the mortgage lending process;

(2) knowingly uses or facilitates the use of any material misstatement, misrepresentation, or
omission, during the mortgage lending process, intending that it be relied upon by a mortgage
lender, borrower, or any other party to the mortgage lending process;

(3) files or causes to be filed with any county recorder in Utah any document that the person knows
contains a material misstatement, misrepresentation, or omission; or
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(4) receives any proceeds or any compensation in connection with a mortgage loan that the person
knows resulted from a violation of this section.

Enacted by Chapter 370, 2008 General Session

76-6-1204 Classification of offense.
(1) Notwithstanding any other administrative, civil, or criminal penalties, a person who violates

Section 76-6-1203 is guilty of a:
(a) class A misdemeanor when the value is or exceeds $500 but is less than $1,500;
(b) third degree felony when the value is or exceeds $1,500 but is less than $5,000;
(c) second degree felony when the value is or exceeds $5,000; and
(d) second degree felony when the object or purpose of the commission of an act of mortgage

fraud is the obtaining of sensitive personal identifying information, regardless of the value.
(2) The determination of the degree of any offense under Subsection (1) is measured by the total

value of all property, money, or things obtained or sought to be obtained by a violation of
Section 76-6-1203, except as provided in Subsection (1)(d).

(3) Each residential or commercial property transaction offense under this part constitutes a
separate violation.

Amended by Chapter 193, 2010 General Session


