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Chapter 9
Attorneys

78A-9-101 Admission to state bar -- Criminal history background checks.
(1) The Utah State Bar shall require each person applying for admission to the Utah State Bar to

submit a complete set of fingerprints for the purpose of conducting a national criminal history
background check.

(2) Fingerprints of applicants for admission to the Utah State Bar shall be submitted to the
Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification to be used to conduct a criminal
history background check and to the Federal Bureau of Investigation to obtain a national
criminal history background check.

(3) The criminal history background information obtained from the Department of Public Safety
and the national criminal history background information obtained from the Federal Bureau
of Investigation pursuant to this section may be used by the Utah State Bar to determine an
applicant's character, fitness, and suitability for admission to the Utah State Bar.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 3, 2008 General Session

78A-9-102 Fees for certificate of admission.
          The appellate courts shall receive a $50 fee for a certificate of admission as attorney and

counselor, $30 of which shall be distributed by the state treasurer to the Judicial Council as a
dedicated credit for the benefit of the State Law Library.

Amended by Chapter 391, 2010 General Session

78A-9-103 Practicing law without a license prohibited -- Exceptions.
(1) Unless otherwise provided by law or court rule, an individual may not practice law or assume

to act or hold himself or herself out to the public as an individual qualified to practice law within
this state if that individual:

(a) is not admitted and licensed to practice law within this state;
(b) has been disbarred or suspended from the practice of law; or
(c) is prohibited from practicing law by court order entered pursuant to the courts' inherent

powers or published court rule.
(2) The prohibition against the practice of law described in Subsection (1) shall be enforced by any

civil action or proceeding instituted by the Board of Commissioners of the Utah State Bar.
(3) Nothing in this section prohibits an individual from personally and fully representing that

individual's own interests in a cause to which that individual is a party in the individual's own
right and not as an assignee.

Amended by Chapter 2, 2013 Special Session 1
Amended by Chapter 2, 2013 Special Session 1


