
Bill Number Action Class Action Code

*SB0172S1* *S* *SCRSUBAMD*
SB0172S1 S SCRSUBAMD

February 22, 2000

Mr. President:

 The Revenue and Taxation Committee recommends   S.B. 172, SALES AND USE TAX

MODIFICATIONS, by Senator  L. Hillyard, be replaced and favorably recommends 1st Sub. 

S.B. 172, SALES AND USE TAX MODIFICATIONS with the following amendments:

1. Page 1, Line 6: After "TAXES;" insert "MODIFYING TAX PENALTY
PROVISIONS;"

2. Page 1, Line 10: After "FUND;" insert "CREATING THE REMOTE SALES
RESTRICTED ACCOUNT; REQUIRING CERTAIN
REVENUES GENERATED BY THE STATE PORTION OF THE
SALES AND USE TAX TO BE DEPOSITED INTO THE
REMOTE SALES RESTRICTED ACCOUNT;"

3. Page 1, Line 23: After Line 23 insert:
"59-1-401, as last amended by Chapter 205, Laws of Utah 1995"

4. Page 2, Line 45: After Line 45 insert:
"59-12-103.2, Utah Code Annotated 1953"

5. Page 3, Line 75: After Line 75 insert:
"Section 2. Section 59-1-401 is amended to read:
59-1-401.  Penalties.  
(1) (a)  The penalty for failure to file a tax return within the time
prescribed by law including extensions is the greater of  $20 or
10% of the unpaid tax due on the return.  
(b)  Subsection (1) does not apply to amended returns.
(2)  The penalty for failure to pay tax due shall be the greater of
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$20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for:
(a)  failure to pay any tax, as reported on a timely filed return;
(b)  failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of the
return, if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty
provided under Subsection (1)(a);
(c)  failure to pay any tax within 30 days of the date of mailing any
notice of deficiency of tax unless a petition for redetermination or a
request for agency action is filed within 30 days of the date of
mailing the notice of deficiency;
(d)  failure to pay any tax within 30 days after the date the
commission's order constituting final agency action resulting from
a timely filed petition for redetermination or request for agency
action is issued or is considered to have been issued under
Subsection 63-46b-13(3)(b); and
(e)  failure to pay any tax within 30 days after the date of a final
judicial decision resulting from a timely filed petition for judicial
review.
(3) (a)  Beginning January 1, 1995, in the case of any
underpayment of estimated tax or quarterly installments required
by Sections 59-5-107, 59-5-207, 59-7-504, and 59-9-104, there
shall be added a penalty in an amount determined by applying the
interest rate provided under Section 59-1-402 plus four percentage
points to the amount of the underpayment for the period of the
underpayment.
(b) (i)  For purposes of Subsection (3)(a), the amount of the
underpayment shall be the excess of the required installment over
the amount, if any, of the installment paid on or before the due date
for the installment.
(ii)  The period of the underpayment shall run from the due date for
the installment to whichever of the following dates is the earlier:
(A)  the original due date of the tax return, without extensions, for
the taxable year; or
(B)  with respect to any portion of the underpayment, the date on
which that portion is paid.
(iii)  For purposes of this Subsection (3), a payment of estimated
tax shall be credited against unpaid required installments in the
order in which the installments are required to be paid.
(4) (a)  In case of an extension of time to file  an individual income
tax or corporate franchise tax return, if the lesser of 90% of the
total tax reported on the tax return or 100% of the prior year's tax is
not paid by the due date of the return, not including extensions, a
2% per month penalty shall apply on the unpaid tax during the
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period of extension.
(b)  If a return is not filed within the extension time period as
provided in Section 59-7-505 or 59-10-516, penalties as provided
in Subsection (1) and Subsection (2)(b) shall be added in lieu of
the penalty assessed under this subsection as if no extension of
time for filing a return had been granted.
(5) (a)  Additional penalties for underpayments of tax are as
[follows:] provided in Subsections (5)(a)(i) through (iv).
(i)  [If] Except as provided in Subsection (5)(c), if any
underpayment of tax is due to negligence, the penalty is 10% of the
underpayment.
(ii)  [If] Except as provided in Subsection (5)(d), if any
underpayment of tax is due to intentional disregard of law or rule,
the penalty is 15% of the underpayment.
(iii)  For intent to evade the tax, the penalty is the greater of $500
per period or 50% of the tax due.
(iv)  If the underpayment is due to fraud with intent to evade the
tax, the penalty is the greater of $500 per period or 100% of the
underpayment.
(b)  If the commission determines that a person is liable for a
penalty imposed under Subsection (ii), (iii), or (iv), the
commission shall notify the taxpayer of the proposed penalty.
(i)  The notice of proposed penalty shall:
(A)  set forth the basis of the assessment; and
(B)  be mailed by registered mail, postage prepaid, to the person's
last-known address.
(ii)  Upon receipt of the notice of proposed penalty, the person
against whom the penalty is proposed may:
(A)  pay the amount of the proposed penalty at the place and time
stated in the notice; or
(B)  proceed in accordance with the review procedures of
Subsection (iii).
(iii)  Any person against whom a penalty has been proposed in
accordance with this subsection may contest the proposed penalty
by filing a petition for an adjudicative proceeding with the
commission.
(iv)  If the commission determines that a person is liable for a
penalty under this subsection, the commission shall assess the
penalty and give notice and demand for payment.  The notice and
demand for payment shall be mailed by registered mail, postage
prepaid, to the person's last-known address.
(c)  Notwithstanding Subsection (5)(a)(i), a vendor that collects a
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tax under Subsection 59-12-107(1)(b) is not subject to the penalty
under Subsection (5)(a)(i) if on or after July 1, 2001:
(i)  a court of competent jurisdiction issues a final unappealable
judgment or order determining that:
(A)  the vendor meets one or more of the criteria described in
Subsection 59-12-107(1)(a); and
(B)  the commission or a county, city, or town may require the
vendor to collect a tax under Subsection (2)(a) or (b); or
(ii)  the commission issues a final unappealable administrative
order determining that:
(A)  the vendor meets one or more of the criteria described in
Subsection 59-12-107(1)(a); and
(B)  the commission or a county, city, or town may require the
vendor to collect a tax under Subsection (2)(a) or (b).
(d)  Notwithstanding Subsection (5)(a)(ii), a vendor that collects a
tax under Subsection 59-12-107(1)(b) is not subject to the penalty
under Subsection (5)(a)(ii) if:
(i) (A)  a court of competent jurisdiction issues a final
unappealable judgment or order determining that:
(I)  the vendor meets one or more of the criteria described in
Subsection 59-12-107(1)(a); and
(II)  the commission or a county, city, or town may require the
vendor to collect a tax under Subsection (2)(a) or (b); or
(B)  the commission issues a final unappealable administrative
order determining that:
(I)  the vendor meets one or more of the criteria described in
Subsection 59-12-107(1)(a); and
(II)  the commission or a county, city, or town may require the
vendor to collect a tax under Subsection (2)(a) or (b); and
(ii)  the vendor's intentional disregard of law or rule is warranted
by existing law or by a nonfrivolous argument for the extension,
modification, or reversal of existing law or the establishment of
new law.
(6)  The penalty for failure to file an information return or a
complete supporting schedule is $50 for each return or schedule up
to a maximum of $1,000.
(7)  If any taxpayer, in furtherance of a frivolous position, has a
prima facie intent to delay or impede administration of the tax law
and files a purported return that fails to contain information from
which the correctness of reported tax liability can be determined or
that clearly indicates that the tax liability shown must be
substantially incorrect, the penalty is $500.
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(8)  For monthly payment of sales and use taxes under Section
59-12-108, in addition to any other penalties for late payment, a
vendor may not retain a percentage of sales and use taxes collected
as otherwise allowable under Section 59-12-108.
(9)  As provided in Section 76-8-1101, the following are criminal
penalties:
(a)  Any person who is required by this title or any laws the
commission administers or regulates to register with or obtain a
license or permit from the commission, or who operates without
having registered or secured a license or permit, or who operates
when the registration, license, or permit is expired or not current, is
guilty of a class B misdemeanor, except that, notwithstanding
Section 76-3-301, the fine is not less than $500 nor more than
$1,000.
(b)  Any person who, with intent to evade any tax or requirement
of this title or any lawful requirement of the commission, fails to
make, render, sign, or verify any return or to supply any
information within the time required under this title, or who makes,
renders, signs, or verifies any false or fraudulent return or
statement, or who supplies any false or fraudulent information, is
guilty of a third degree felony, except that, notwithstanding Section
76-3-301, the fine is not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000.
(c)  Any person who willfully attempts to evade or defeat any tax
or the payment thereof is, in addition to other penalties provided by
law, guilty of a second degree felony, except that, notwithstanding
Section 76-3-301, the fine is not less than $1,500 nor more than
$25,000.
(d)  The statute of limitations for prosecution for a violation of this
section is six years from the date the tax should have been
remitted.
(10)  Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable
cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise
any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part."

6. Page 16, Line 489: After "through" delete "(7)" and insert "(8)"

7. Page 21, Line 625: After Line 625 insert:
"(8)(a) Notwithstanding Subsection (3)(a), for fiscal years
beginning on or after fiscal year 2002-03, the commission shall on
or before September 30 of each year deposit the difference
described in Subsection (8)(b) into the Remote Sales Restricted
Account created in Section 59-12-103.2 if that difference is greater
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than $0.
(b) The difference described in Subsection (8)(a) is equal to the
difference between:
(i) the total amount of revenues the commission received from
vendors collecting a tax under Subsection 59-12-107(1)(b) for the
previous fiscal year; and
(ii) the total amount of revenues the commission received from
vendors collecting a tax under Subsection 59-12-107(1)(b) for
fiscal year 2000-01."

8. Page 22, Line 661: After Line 661 insert:
"Section 5.  Section 59-12-103.2 is enacted to read:
59-12-103.2.  Remote Sales Restricted Account – Creation –
Use of revenues.
(1) There is created within the General Fund a restricted account
known as the "Remote Sales Restricted Account."
(2) The account shall be funded from the portion of the sales and
use tax deposited by the commission as provided in Subsection
59-12-103(8).
(3) It is the intent of the Legislature that the revenues deposited
into the account be expended as appropriated by the Legislature to
reduce the burden of sales and use taxes imposed on food."

Renumber remaining sections accordingly.

 Respectfully,

John L. Valentine
Committee Chair

Voting:  6-0-1
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