MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION STANDING COMMITTEE Monday, February 25, 2002 Room 414, STATE CAPITOL BUILDING

Members Present:	Sen. Bill Wright, Chair
	Sen. Ron Allen
	Sen. D. Chris Buttars
	Sen. David L. Gladwell
	Sen. David H. Steele
	Sen. Howard A. Stephenson
	Sen. Alicia L. Suazo
	Sen. Michael G. Waddoups
	Sen. Carlene M. Walker
Member Excused:	Sen. Karen Hale
Staff Present:	Constance C. Steffen, Research Analyst
	Dee S Larsen, Assoc. General Counsel
	Saundra Maeser, Secretary
Public Speakers Present:	Karen Derrick, Utah School Boards Association and Utah School Superintendents Association
	Nancy Deford, Superintendent, Park City School District
	Kay Smith, Principal, Payson High School
	Marian Gardner, Education Commissioner, State PTA
	Stephen Ronnenkamp, Superintendent, Granite School District
	Phyllis Sorensen, President, Utah Education Association
	Paula Plant, Trust Land Specialist, Utah State Office of Education
	Steven Laing, State Superintendent, Utah State Office of Education
	Steve Peterson, Utah School Boards Association
	Susan Kuziak, Executive Director, Utah Education Association
	Carol Murphy, Park City School Board
	David Armstrong, Superintendent, Carbon School District
	Richard Kendall, Governor's Office
Visitor list on file.	

Visitor list on file.

Chair Wright called the meeting to order at 8:12 a.m.

MOTION: Sen. Buttars moved to approve the minutes of February 5, 2002. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Allen and Sen. Stephenson absent for the vote.

Sen. Wright relinquished the chair to Sen. Waddoups.

Minutes of the Senate Education Standing Committee February 25, 2002 Page 2

1. <u>S.B. 167 School Community Councils</u> (B. Wright)

Sen. Wright explained the bill consolidates various school councils.

The following spoke in opposition to the bill or suggested changes to the bill: Ms. Karen Derrick, Utah School Boards Assoc. and Utah School Superintendents Assoc. Supt. Nancy Deford, Park City School District Ms. Kay Smith, Principal, Payson High School Ms. Marian Gardner, Education Commissioner, State PTA Supt. Stephen Ronnenkamp, Granite School District Ms. Phyllis Sorensen, Utah Education Association

The following spoke in favor of the bill: Ms. Paula Plant, Utah State Office of Education Supt. Steven Laing, Utah State Office of Education

MOTION: Sen. Buttars moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed with Sen. Allen, Sen. Steele, Sen. Suazo, and Sen. Walker voting in opposition.

Sen. Waddoups relinquished the chair to Sen. Wright.

2. <u>S.B. 155 Education Budget Reserve Account</u> (L. Blackham)

Sen. Blackham explained the bill requires surplus monies in the Uniform School Fund at the end of a fiscal year to be deposited into the Education Budget Reserve Account.

Mr. Steve Peterson, Utah School Boards Association, had questions concerning the bill.

Ms. Susan Kuziak, Utah Education Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Steele moved to remove line 96 of the bill. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Waddoups absent for the vote.

MOTION: Sen. Stephenson moved to go to the next item on the agenda. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Waddoups absent for the vote.

3. <u>S.B. 138</u> Charter Schools Amendments (H. Stephenson)

MOTION: Sen. Stephenson moved to adopt the first substitute to S.B. 138. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Waddoups absent for the vote.

Sen. Stephenson said the bill allows the State Board of Education to sponsor New Century High Schools, magnet charter schools focused on math, science, and technology.

Minutes of the Senate Education Standing Committee February 25, 2002 Page 3

> The following suggested that changes be made to the bill: Ms. Carol Murphy, Park City School Board Mr. David Armstrong, Carbon School District

The following spoke in support of the bill: Mr. Richard Kendall, Governor's Office

MOTION: Sen. Gladwell moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Waddoups absent for the vote.

Chair Wright adjourned the meeting at 9:15 a.m.

Minutes were reported by Saundra Maeser, Secretary.

Sen. Bill Wright, Chair