MINUTES OF HOUSE EDUCATION STANDING COMMITTEE

January 27, 2003

Room 129, State Capitol Building

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair

Rep. Merlynn, T. Newbold, Vice Chair

Rep. LaVar Christensen

Rep. John Dougall Rep. James A. Ferrin Rep. James R. Gowans Rep. Ann W. Hardy Rep. David L. Hogue

Rep. Kory M. Holdaway Rep. Gregory H. Hughes

Rep. Bradley T. Johnson Rep. Carol Spackman Moss

Rep. Loraine T.Pace

Rep. LaWanna Shurtliff

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rep. Brad King

STAFF PRESENT: Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst

Greta Rodebush, Committee Secretary Dee S. Larsen, Associate General Counsel

VISITORS LIST: Attached to and made a part of these minutes.

Vice Chair Newbold called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Shurtliff moved to approve the minutes of January 23, 2003. The motion

passed unanimously with Rep. Hughes absent for the vote.

H.B. 39 Repeal of Education Reports and Duties (M. Dayton)

MOTION: Rep. Dayton moved to replace H.B. 39, in title and body, with 1st Sub. H.B. 39,

Repeal of Education Reports and Duties. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Hogue, Rep. Hughes, Rep. Johnson, and Rep. Moss absent for the vote.

Rep. Dayton introduced 1st Sub.H.B. 39 which modifies provisions relating to the State System of Public Education by eliminating certain reporting requirements of the State Office of Education and the State Board of Education to the Legislature.

Minutes of House Education Committee January 27, 2003 Page 2

Mr. Richard Ellis, Chief Deputy, State Treasurer's Office, spoke to the bill.

Mr. Patrick Ogden, Associate Superintendent, State Office of Education, spoke to the bill.

Mr. Steven H. Peterson, Utah School Boards Association. and Utah School Superintendents Association spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Gowans moved to pass 1st Sub. H.B.39 out favorably.

SUBSTITUTE

MOTION: Rep. Christensen moved to amend the bill as follows:

1. Page 2, Line 36 delete all of line 36

2. Page 24, Lines 717-724 delete all of lines 717-724

The motion failed with Rep. Christensen voting in opposition and Rep. Hughes absent for the vote.

A vote was taken on Rep. Gowans original motion. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Hughes absent for the vote.

H.B. 169 Process for Creation of New School Districts (*D. Cox*)

Rep. Cox reintroduced H.B. 169 which provides a process for creating new school districts.

MOTION: Rep. Shurtliff moved to amend the bill as follows:

1. Page 5, Line 144: After "53A-2-116" insert "and shall retain

the same status as a career or provisional

employee with accrued seniority."

Mr. Geoffrey Leonard, General Counsel, Utah School Employees Association, spoke in support of the amendment.

The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Hughes absent for the vote.

MOTION: Rep. Dougall moved to amend the bill as follows:

1. Page 2, Line 32: After "petition;" insert "or"

2. Page 2, Lines 33-34: Delete all of lines 33 and 34

Minutes of House Education Committee January 27, 2003 Page 3

3	Page 2, Line 35:	Delete "(v)	" and insert "	iii)"
J.	i age 2, Line 33.	DCICIO (V	, and more (111/

4. Page 3, Line 78: After "within" insert "both"

5. Page 3, Line 79: Delete "existing" and insert "proposed" and

after "school district" insert "and the

remaining school district"

SUBSTITUTE

MOTION: Rep. Dayton moved to amend the bill as follows:

1. Page 3, Line 78: After "within" insert "both"

2. Page 3, Line 79: Delete "existing" and insert "proposed" and

after "school district" insert "and the

remaining school district"

The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Barry Newbold, Superintendent, Jordan School District, commented on the bill.

Ms. Sarah Meier, Utah School Boards Association and Utah School Superintendents Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Ferrin moved to pass the bill out favorably as amended. The motion passed

with Rep. Gowans, Rep. Hardy, Rep. Hogue, Rep. Moss, Rep. Pace, and Rep.

Shurtliff voting in opposition to the motion.

MOTION: Rep. Dougall moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

Vice Chair Newbold adjourned the meeting at 9:39 a.m.

Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair