MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TRANSPORTATION STANDING COMMITTEE

ROOM 405, STATE CAPITOL BUILDING

January 22, 2003

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Joseph G. Murray, Chair

Rep. Jeff Alexander Rep. Calvin G. Bird Rep. Don E. Bush Rep. David Clark Rep. John Dougall Rep. Jim Dunnigan Rep. Brad King Rep. Todd E. Kiser Rep. Rebecca Lockhart Rep. Ty McCartney Rep. Karen W. Morgan

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rep. Bradley A. Winn, Vice-Chair

STAFF PRESENT: Benjamin N. Christensen, Policy Analyst

Betty M. Bushman, House Secretary

OTHERS PRESENT: (List of visitors on file)

Chair Murray called the meeting to order at 12:11 p.m.

MOTION: Representative McCartney moved to approve the minutes of the January 21, 2003 committee meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Representative Alexander, Representative Clark, Representative Dunnigan, Representative King, and Representative Morgan absent for the vote.

H.B. 179 Impounding Uninsured Motorist Vehicle (C. Bennion)

Representative Bennion introduced the bill to the committee and proposed amendments.

MOTION: Representative Lockhart moved to amend the bill as follows:

1. Page 1, Line 7: After "officer" insert "unless the peace officer estimates that the

cost of repair of the vehicle exceeds its value"

2. Page 2, Line 28: Delete "If" and insert "Except as provided under Subsection (3)(b),

if"

House Transportation Standing Committee January 22, 2003 Page 2

3. Page 2, Line 32: After "(b)" insert "Subsection (3)(a) does not apply if in the peace

officer's estimation, the vehicle is damaged to the extent that the cost of repairing the vehicle for safe operation exceeds its fair

market value.

(c)"

The motion passed unanimously with Representative Alexander, Representative Clark, Representative King, and Representative Morgan absent for the vote.

Representative Bennion explained the bill to the committee.

Wayne Jones, Executive Director - Independent Auto Dealers Association, spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Representative McCartney moved to pass the bill out favorably as amended. The motion passed with Representative Bird, Representative Dougall, Representative Kiser, and Representative Morgan voting no. Representative Alexander and Representative Bush were absent for the vote.

H.B. 164 James V. Hansen Highway Designation (D. Aagard)

Representative Aagard presented the bill to the committee and proposed amendments.

MOTION: Representative Dougall moved to amend the bill as follows:

- 1. Page 1, Line 6: Delete "the Davis and Weber County line" and insert "Route 203, Harrison Boulevard in South Ogden"
- 2. Page 1, Lines 16-17: Delete "the Davis and Weber County line" and insert "Route 203, Harrison Boulevard in South Ogden"

The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Representative Alexander moved to pass the bill out favorably as amended. The motion passed unanimously with Representative Morgan absent for the vote.

MOTION: Representative McCartney moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Representative Morgan absent for the vote.

Chair Murray adjourned the meeting at 2:37 pm.

Representative Joseph G. Murray Committee Chair