MINUTES OF THE SENATE NATURAL RESOURCES, AGRICULTURE, AND ENVIRONMENT STANDING COMMITTEE

MONDAY, FEBRUARY 17, 2003 Room 131, State Capitol Building

Members Present Sen. Beverly Ann Evans, Chair

Sen. Gene Davis Sen. Thomas Hatch Sen. Parley G. Hellewell Sen. Scott K. Jenkins Sen. Paula Julander Sen. Bill Wright

Members Excused: Sen. Leonard M. Blackham

Staff Present: J Brian Allred, Policy Analyst

Norda Shepard, Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Jim Jones, Waste Management of Utah

Craig Call, Private Property Ombudsman, State of Utah

Donald Rawlings, Private Property Owner

Chris Tyler, General Counsel, Utah Association of Realtors

Taz Besinger, CEO, Home Builders Association

List of Visitors on File:

Chair Evans called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.

MOTION: Sen. Jenkins moved to approve the minutes of 2-13-03.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Davis and Sen. Julander absent at the time of the vote.

1. S.B. 146 Waste Fee Amendments (B. Wright)

Sen. Wright presented the bill. Jim Jones, Waste Management of Utah, voiced concerns about the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hatch moved to pass S.B. 146 Waste Fee Amendments (*B. Wright*) out with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously.

2. S.B. 187 Eminent Domain Amendments (P. Hellewell)

Sen. Hellewell presented the bill. Craig Call, Private Property Ombudsman, State of Utah, spoke in support and distributed information handouts to the committee. Donald Rawlings, private

Minutes of the Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Standing Committee February 17, 2003 Page 2

property owner; Chris Tyler, General Counsel, Utah Association of Realtors; and Tas Besinger, CEO, Home Builders Association spoke in support.

MOTION: Sen. Hatch moved to passed S.B. 187 Eminent Domain Amendments (*P. Hellewell*) out with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Davis absent at the time of the vote.

MOTION: Sen. Jenkins moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Davis absent at the time of the vote.

Chair Evans adjourned the meeting at 9:34 a.m.

Minutes were reported by Norda Shepard, Secretary

Sen. Beverly Ann Evans, Committee Chair