MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION & PUBLIC UTILITIES & TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE JANUARY 30, 2003, 3:15 P.M.

ROOM 403, STATE CAPITOL

Members Present: Sen. David Steele, Chair

Sen. Dan Eastman Sen. Karen Hale Sen. Ed P. Mayne

Sen. Howard A. Stephenson Sen. Carlene M. Walker

Members Absent: Sen. Bill Hickman

Sen. Peter C. Knudson

Staff Present: Art Hunsaker, Policy Analyst

Karen Allred, Secretary

Visitor List on File

Committee Chair Steele called the meeting to order at 3:20 p.m.

MOTION: Sen. Eastman moved to approve the minutes of January 28, 2003.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Hale and Mayne absent for the vote.

1. S.J.R. 8 Resolution Recognizing Liberty (E. Mayne)

Sen. Mayne explained the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Mayne moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously.

2. S.B. 125 Restrictions on Passengers in Pickup Trucks (C. Bramble)

Sen. Bramble explained the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Walker moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed with Sens. Eastman, Walker, Hale and Steele voting in favor of the bill, Sen. Stephenson voting in opposition, and Sen. Mayne absent for the vote.

Minutes of the Senate Transportation & Public Utilities & Technology Standing Committee January 30, 2003
Page 2

3. H.B. 32 Vehicle Impound Fee for Driving Under the Influence Cases (J. Murray)

Rep. Murray explained the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Eastman moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously.

4. H.B. 47 Fire Prevention Amendments (J. Murray)

Rep. Murray explained the bill.

Brent Halliday, Fire Marshall's Office, spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hale moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously.

5. H.B. 55 Tow Truck Requirements (J. Gowans)

Rep. Gowans explained the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hale moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Stephenson and Mayne absent for the vote.

MOTION: Sen. Walker moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Steele adjourned the meeting at 4:03 p.m.

Sen. David Steele, Committee Chair