H.B. 8 SEAT BELT ENFORCEMENT PROVISIONS

HOUSE FLOOR AMENDMENTS

AMENDMENT 5

January 30, 2003

10:33 AM

Representative **Chad E. Bennion** proposes the following amendments:

1. Page 1, Lines 5-7b

House Floor Amendment 3 dated January 28, 2003

Item #1:

After "suspected violation." insert "Beginning July 1, 2013, this act amends the safety belt requirements by making the requirement to wear a safety belt only apply to persons under 19 years of age."

2. Page 1, Line 10

House Committee Amendments

1-24-2003:

After line 10 insert

"63-55-241, as last amended by Chapters 72 and 369, Laws of Utah

2001

ENACTS:

41-6-182.1, Utah Code Annotated 1953"

3. Page 2, Line 34

House Committee Amendments

1-24-2003:

After line 34 insert:

"Section 2. Section 41-6-182 is enacted to read:

<u>41-6-182.1.</u> Driver and passengers -- Seat belt or child restraint device required.

- (1) Beginning July 1, 2013, the driver of a motor vehicle operated on a highway shall:
- (a) if the driver is under 19 years of age wear a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt;
- (b) provide for the protection of each person younger than five years of age by using a child restraint device to restrain each person in the manner prescribed by the manufacturer of the device; and (c) provide for the protection of each person five years of age up to 16 years of age by using an appropriate child restraint device to restrain each person in the manner prescribed by the manufacturer of the device or by securing, or causing to be secured, a properly

- adjusted and fastened safety belt on each person.
- (2) Beginning July 1, 2013 a passenger who is under 19 years of age or older of a motor vehicle operated on a highway shall wear a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt.
- (3) In accordance with Title 63, Chapter 46a, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the commissioner of the Department of Public Safety shall set standards for approved safety belts and child restraint devices.
- (4) If more than one person is not using a child restraint device or wearing a safety belt in violation of Subsection (1), it is only one offense and the driver may receive only one citation.

Section 3. Section **63-55-241** is amended to read:

63-55-241. Repeal dates, Title 41.

The following provisions of Title 41 are repealed on the following dates:

- (1) Section 41-6-182, Driver and passengers -- Seat belt or child restraint device required, is repealed July 1, 2013.
- [(1)] (2) Title 41, Chapter 12a, Part VIII, Uninsured Motorist Identification Database Program, is repealed July 1, 2010.
- [(2)] (3) The HOV lane exception for clean fuel special group license plate vehicles in Subsection 41-6-53.5(5) is repealed December 31, 2005."