## MINUTES OF THE HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE Room 129 - State Capitol Building

## January 28, 2004

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Wayne A. Harper, Chair

Rep. Stephen D. Clark, Vice Chair

Rep. Sheryl L. Allen Rep. Eli H.Anderson Rep. Judy Ann Buffmire Rep. Scott Daniels Rep. Craig Frank Rep. Brad Last

Rep. Susan Lawrence

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss Rep. Darin G. Peterson Rep. Jack A. Seitz Rep. Gordon E. Snow

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rep. J. Morgan Philpot

STAFF: Bryant Howe, Policy Analyst

Michelle Teerlink, Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Clark called the meeting to order at 8:05 a.m.

**MOTION:** Rep. Seitz moved to approve the minutes of the January 26, 2004 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Allen absent for the vote.

## HCR006 Resolution Opposing Internet Access Taxes (Rep. C. Bennion)

**MOTION:** Rep. Harper moved to adopt the amendment following amendments:

- 1. Page 1, line 22 After "individuals" insert "and businesses"
- 2. Page 1, line 23 After "access" insert "potential"
- 3. Page 2, line 26 After "taxes" delete "led to" and insert "enabled"
- 4. Page 2, line 32 After "and" insert "potentially"

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee January 24, 2003 Page 2

5. Page 2, line 37 After "Internet" insert "access"

The motion passed out unanimously with Rep. Allen absent for the vote.

**MOTION:** Rep. Snow moved to transmit the bill with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed with Reps. Daniels and Moss voting in opposition and with Rep. Allen absent for the vote.

SB0013 Resort Communities Tax Amendments (Sen. L. Hillyard) (Rep. D. Ure)

Sen. Hillyard introduced the bill and explained its intent. Roger Tew, Utah League of Cities and Towns assisted with the bill. Commissioner Bruce Johnson, Utah State Tax Commission spoke for the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Buffmire moved to transmit the bill with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

**MOTION:** Rep. Moss moved to adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 8:25 a.m.

Rep. Wayne A. Harper, Chair