MINUTES OF THE HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE Room 129 - State Capitol Building

February 6, 2004

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Wayne A. Harper, Chair

Rep. Stephen D. Clark, Vice Chair

Rep. Sheryl L. Allen Rep. Eli H.Anderson Rep. Judy Ann Buffmire Rep. Scott Daniels Rep. Craig Frank Rep. Brad Last

Rep. Susan Lawrence

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss Rep. Darin G. Peterson Rep. J. Morgan Philpot Rep. Jack A. Seitz Rep. Gordon E. Snow

MEMBERS ABSENT:

STAFF: Bryant Howe, Policy Analyst

Michelle Teerlink, Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Harper called the meeting to order at 8:04 a.m.

SB0109 Individual Income Tax Contributions for Education (Sen. D. Thomas)

Sen. Thomas introduced the bill and explained the committee.

MOTION: Rep. Seitz moved to transmit the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Reps. Anderson, Last, Philpot, Allen and Moss absent for the vote.

HB0252 Calculation of Property Tax Levies (Rep. M. Newbold)

Rep. Newbold introduced the bill and explained it to the committee with aid of a handout. Commissioner Pam Hendrickson, Utah State Tax Commission spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Peterson moved to transmit the bill out favorably. The motion passed

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee January 24, 2003 Page 2

unanimously with Reps. Philpot and Allen absent for the vote.

HB0125 County Option Funding for Botanical, Cultural, Recreational, and Zoological Organizations or Facilities Amendments (*Rep. T. Kiser*)

MOTION: Rep. Last moved to amend as follows:

- 1. Page 1, Line 13: After "include" delete "a "convention facility" or"
- 2. Page 1, Line 14: Delete "terms "conventional facility" and "and insert "term"
- 3. Page 2, Line 40: Delete line 40 and renumber the remaining sections

accordingly

- 4. Page 3, Line 65: After "Subsection" delete "(5)" and insert "(4)"
- 5. Page 3, Line 75: After "system" delete "convention facility"
- 6. Page 3, Line 85: After "Subsection" delete "(10)" and insert "(9)"

The motion passed unanimously with Reps. Philpot and Allen absent for the vote.

Rep. Kiser introduced the bill and explained it to the committee with aid of a handout. Deputy Mayor Alan Dayton, Salt Lake County assisted with the bill. Marsha Burnside, Murray City Arts Advisory Board spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Snow moved to transmit the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Reps. Philpot and Allen absent for the vote.

SB0082S02 Deposits into Uintah Basin Revitalization Fund (Sen. R. Allen)

Rep. Seitz introduced the bill and explained its intent to the committee. Larry Ross Duschane County Commission, and Chris Denver, Ute Distribution Commission spoke in favor of the bill. Maxine Natchees, Ute Indian Tribe, Lawyer Scott Anderson, Davis Graham and Stubbs, Michal McKeen, and John Jarious, North Uintah Ute Tribe Financial Advisor spoke against the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Seitz moved to put this on the next agenda. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Philpot absent for the vote.

HB0230 Property Tax Levy for Education (Rep. M. Styler)

MOTION: Rep. Lawrence moved to approve the amendments as follows:

- 1. Page 1, Line 11: Delete ".001743" and insert ".001754"
- 2. Page 3, Line 64: Delete ".001743" and insert ".001754"

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee January 24, 2003 Page 3

The motion passed unanimously with Reps. Snow, Last, and Philpot absent for the vote.

Rep. Styler introduced the bill and explained it to the committee with the aid of handouts. Dick Arnold, Utah Education Association, Roger Tew, Utah League of Cities and Towns, Loyd Frandsen, Public, and Sarah Meyers, Utah School Board Association spoke in favor of the bill. Mike Jerman, Utah Taxpayers Association spoke against the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Seitz moved to transmit the bill out favorably. The motion passed with Reps. Frank, Peterson, Philpot, and Harper voting in opposition and Reps. Last and Snow absent for the vote.

MOTION: Rep. Allen moved to approve the minutes from February 3, 2004 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Rep. Moss moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 9:52 a. m.

Rep. Wayne A. Harper, Chair