# MINUTES OF THE SENATE JUDICIARY, LAW ENFORCEMENT AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE STANDING COMMITTEE

# Thursday, January 29, 2004 Room 414, STATE CAPITOL BUILDING

Members Present: Sen. Gregory Bell, Chair

Sen. Patrice M. Arent Sen. James M. Evans Sen. David L. Gladwell Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard Sen. Mike Dmitrich

Members Excused: Sen. L. Alma Mansell

Sen. D. Chris Buttars

Staff Present: Jami Momberger, Policy Analyst

Katrina Yarrington, Committee Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Jeffrey W. Hall, Deputy District Attorney, State Wide Association of

Prosecutors

Gary A. Wise, State Fire Marshal

Mike Chabries, Executive Director, Utah Department of Corrections Scott Carver, Deputy Director, Utah Department of Corrections Laurie Shingle, court reporter, Utah Court Reporter Association Clyde Ormond, Manager, Division of Occupational and Professional

Conduct

Michael Wims, Assistant Attorney General, Attorney General's Office

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Committee Chair Bell called the meeting to order at 8:07 a.m.

**MOTION:** Sen. Gladwell moved to approve the minutes of January 27, 2004.

The motion passed unanimously with, Sen. Dmitrich, Sen. Buttars, Sen. Evans, Sen. Hillyard, and Sen. Mansell absent for the vote.

## 1. S.B. 38 Arson Offense Amendments (P. Arent)

Sen. Arent introduced the bill assisted by Jeffrey W. Hall, Deputy District Attorney.

Minutes of the Senate Judiciary Standing Committee February 6, 2002 Page 2

The following people spoke in support of the bill: Gary A. Wise, State Fire Marshal

**MOTION:** Sen. Dmitrich moved to pass S.B. 38 out with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed, with Sen. Gladwell voting in opposition and Sen. Hillyard, Sen. Mansell, and Sen. Buttars absent for the vote.

#### **2. S.B. 80 Capital Punishment Amendments** (J. Valentine)

Sen. Valentine introduced the bill assisted by Mike Chabries, Executive Director, Utah Department of Corrections.

**MOTION:** Sen. Dmitrich moved to amend S.B. 80 as follows:

- 1. Page 3, Line 70:
  - drawing of the warrant [[-, at an hour determined by the Department of

    Corrections ]] \_\_,and which may not be a Sunday, Monday, or a legal holiday, as

    defined in Section 63-13-2 .

The motion passed unanimously, with Sen. Buttars, Sen. Hillyard, and Sen. Mansell absent for the vote.

The following people spoke in support of the bill: Scott Carver, Deputy Director, Utah Department of Corrections

**MOTION:** Sen. Evans moved to pass S.B.80 out with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously, with Sen. Buttars, Sen. Dmitrich, and Sen. Mansell absent for the vote.

## 3. S.B. 123 Court Reporter Amendments (L. Hillyard)

Sen. Hillyard introduced the bill assisted by Laurie Shingle, President, Utah Court Reporter Association.

**MOTION:** Sen. Hillyard moved to amend S.B.123 as follows:

- 1. Page 7, Lines 185 through 186:
  - 185 (2) A <u>certified</u> court reporter is an officer of the court whose impartiality shall remain beyond
  - 186 question.

Minutes of the Senate Judiciary Standing Committee February 6, 2002 Page 3

The motion passed unanimously, with Sen. Mansell, Sen. Buttars, and Sen. Dmitrich absent for the vote.

The following people spoke in support of the bill: Lisa Watts Baskin, Lobbyist, Utah Court Reporter Association Clyde Ormond, Manager, DOPC

**MOTION**: Sen. Hillyard moved to pass S.B. 123 out with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously, with Sen. Buttars, Sen. Dmitrich, and Sen. Mansell absent for the vote.

# **4. S.B. 119 Prosecution Jurisdiction Amendment** (B. Evans)

Sen. Evans introduced the bill assisted by Mike Wims, Assistant Attorney General.

**MOTION:** Sen. Arent moved to pass S.B.119 out with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously, with Sen. Buttars, Sen. Dmitrich, Sen. Gladwell, Sen. Hillyard, and Sen. Mansell absent for the vote.

**MOTION:** Sen. Evans moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously.

Committee Chair Bell adjourned the meeting at 9:07 a.m.

Minutes recorded by Katrina Yarrington, Secretary

Sen. Gregory S. Bell, Committee Chair