MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION & PUBLIC UTILITIES & TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 6, 2004, 2:00 P.M. ROOM 403, STATE CAPITOL

Members Present: Sen. Sheldon Killpack, Chair

Sen. Karen Hale Sen. Bill Hickman Sen. Peter C. Knudson Sen. Ed P. Mayne

Sen. Howard A. Stephenson Sen. Carlene M. Walker

Member Excused: Sen. Dan Eastman

Staff Present: Stewart E Smith, Policy Analyst

Karen Allred, Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Steve Proper, Comcast

Jerry Fenn, President, Qwest

Rex Knowles, Vice President, XO Communications Steve Mecham, Utah Rural Telephone Association Claire Geddes, Director, Utah Legislative Watch

Jerry Stevenson, Mayor, Layton City Janice Auger, Mayor, Taylorsville

Roger Black, UTOPIA

Ward Spangenberg, Director, Integration/Dynamiccity Robert Wood, Distinguished Professor of Finance

Jonathan Hansen, CEO, MSTAR.NET Bruce Kartchner, Back Country Horsemen Craig Moody, Back Country Horsemen

Wayne Jones, Executive Director, Utah Powersport Dealers Bart Blackstock, Deputy Director, Department of Public Safety/

Driver License Division

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Committee Chair Killpack called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m.

MOTION: Sen. Walker moved to approve the minutes of February 2, and February 4, 2004.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Knudson absent for the vote.

Minutes of the Senate Transportation & Public Utilities & Technology Standing Committee February 6, 2004 Page 2

1. S.B. 66 Telecommunications Amendments (J. Hickman)

Sen. Hickman explained the bill and handouts were distributed.

Steve Proper, Comcast; Jerry Fenn. Pres., Owest; Rex Knowles, V.P. XO Communications; Steve Mecham, Utah Rural Telephone Assn.; and Claire Geddes, Dir., Utah Legislative Watch, spoke in support of the bill.

Jerry Stevenson, Mayor, Layton City; Janice Auger, Mayor, Taylorsville; Roger Black, UTOPIA; Ward Spangengerg, Dir., Integration/Dynamiccity; Robert Wood, Distinguished Professor of Finance; and Jonathan Hansen, CEO, MSTAR.NET, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Stephenson moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed with Sens. Hickman, Stephenson, Walker, Hale and Mayne voting in favor of the bill, Sen. Killpack voting in opposition, and Sen. Knudson absent for the vote.

2. S.B. 166 Off-highway Vehicle Registration Provisions (T. Hatch)

MOTION: Sen. Walker moved to adopt 1st Sub. S.B. 166.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Hickman and Knudson absent for the vote.

The following amendments were distributed:

- 1. Page 4, Lines 100 through 101:
 - 100 (1) Beginning on [[July 1, 2004]] January 1, 2005, the Motor Vehicle Division shall assign an off-highway
 - vehicle registration number to each off-highway vehicle registered under Section 101 41-22-3.

MOTION: Sen. Walker moved to adopt the amendments.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Hickman and Knudson absent for the vote.

Sen. Hale suggested to amend the bill as follows;

1. Page 3, Line 84: Reinstate "and" and delete "or" Minutes of the Senate Transportation & Public Utilities & Technology Standing Committee February 6, 2004 Page 3

MOTION: Sen. Hale moved to adopt the amendment.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Hickman and Knudson absent for the vote.

Bruce Kartchner, Back Country Horsemen and Craig Moody, Back Country Horsemen, spoke in support of the bill.

Wayne Jones, Exec. Dir., Utah Powersport Dealers, expressed concerns about the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Walker moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Hickman and Knudson absent for the vote.

3. S.B. 168 Driver License Related Amendments (C. Walker)

Sen. Walker explained the bill assisted by Bart Blackstock, Dep. Dir., Dept. of Public Safety/Driver License Division.

MOTION: Sen. Mayne moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Hickman and Knudson absent for the vote.

MOTION: Sen. Mayne moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Hickman and Knudson absent for the vote.

Chair Killpack adjourned the meeting at 3:55 p.m.

Sen. Sheldon L. Killpack, Committee Chair