MINUTES OF THE WORKFORCE SERVICES & COMMUNITY & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT STANDING COMMITTEE FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 13, 2004 - 2:00 P.M. Room 414/416, State Capitol Building

| Members Present: | Sen. David Thomas, Committee Chair Sen. Scott Jenkins Sen. Paula Julander Sen. Sheldon Killpack Sen. Ed Mayne Sen. John Valentine |
|--------------------------|---|
| Members Excused: | Sen. Lyle Hillyard |
| Members Absent: | Sen. Thomas Hatch |
| Staff Present: | Art Hunsaker, Policy Analyst Bonnie Brinton, Committee Secretary |
| Public Speakers Present: | Sen. Leonard Blackham Sen. Ron Allen Leigh Von der Esch, Director, Utah Film Commission Tim Nelson, Producer, Nelson Productions Bryon Clifton, President, Redman Morris Film Company Anne Sward Hansen, Utah President, Screen Actors Guild Robin Riggs, Chamber of Commerce Wes Curtis, Governors Office of Planning and Budget Ed Myers, SMART Site Director, Division of Community and Economic Development Sarah Brenna, Legislative Liaison, Department of Workforce Services Laura Polacheck, Associate State Director, AARP - Utah Tim Schultz, Policy Analyst, Utah Issues Kris Fawson, Co-Director, DAS/Surplus Tom Brownle, Advocate for People with Disabilities Marty Blair, Director, Utah Assistance Technology Program Joyce Dolcourt, Director of Government Affairs, The Arc of Utah Jane Nelson, Community Coalition of People with Disabilities |

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Thomas called the meeting to order at 2:12 p.m.

MOTION: Sen. Jenkins moved to approve the minutes of the February 9, 2004 meeting.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Julander and Mayne absent at the time of voting.

1. <u>S.B. 240 Motion Picture Task Force</u> (Sen. R. Allen)

Sen. Allen presented the bill.

Leigh Von der Esch, Director, Utah Film Commission, spoke in support of the bill.

Tim Nelson, Producer, Nelson Productions, spoke in support of the bill.

Bryon Clifton, President, Redman Morris Film Company, spoke in support of the bill.

Anne Sward Hansen, Utah President, Screen Actors Guild, spoke in support of the bill.

Robin Riggs, Chamber of Commerce, spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Sen Valentine moved to accept the following amendment:

- 1. Page 3, Lines 66 through 77:
 - 66 (b) In conducting the review and making the recommendations required by Subsection
 - $67 \quad (1)(a)$ the task force shall:
 - 68 (i) consider issues including:
 - 69 (A) economic development;
 - 70 (B) sales and use tax exemptions;
 - 71 (C) investment tax credits;
 - 72 (D) payroll tax credits;
 - 73 (E) enterprise zones;
 - 74 (F) production expense funds; [[<u>and</u>]]
 - 75 (G) county and municipality revenue sources; [[and]] (H) Tax Commission audit experience; and
 - 76 (ii) review and make recommendations on any other issue relating to Subsection (1)(a).

77 (2) The task force may meet up to eight times during the 2004 interim.

The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. Killpack moved to pass S.B. 240, as amended, out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously.

2. <u>S.B. 199 Outsourcing State Jobs</u> (Sen. L. Blackham)

MOTION: Sen. Jenkins moved to strike S.B.199 in title and body and to adopt 1st Sub. S.B. 199.

The motion passed unanimously.

Sen. Blackham presented 1st Sub. S.B. 199.

Wes Curtis, Governor's Office of Planning and Budget, and Ed Myers, SMART Site Director, Division of Community and Economic Development, assisted in the presentation of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Jenkins moved to pass 1st Sub. S.B. 199 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously.

3. <u>S.J.R. 9 Resolution on Ethnic Advisory Councils</u> (Sen. J. Evans)

Rep. J. Evans presented the resolution and stated that he would request an opportunity to present this information to the Executive Appropriations Committee. Sen. Valentine suggested that, in order to provide a better public forum, another committee be chosen to make this presentation.

MOTION: Sen. Mayne moved to pass S.J.R. 9 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously.

4. H.B. 8 Unemployment Insurance Benefits - Social Security Benefits Offset (Rep. D.

Cox)

Rep. Cox presented the bill.

Sarah Brenna, Legislative Liaison, Department of Workforce Services, clarified the bill.

Sen. Mayne commended Rep. Cox for sponsoring the bill and stated that all groups concerned support the bill.

Laura Polacheck, Associate State Director, AARP - Utah, spoke in support of this bill and distributed a fact sheet entitled, "Support H.B. 8 to Reduce the Social Security Offset."

Tim Schultz, Policy Analyst, Utah Issues, spoke in support of this bill and distributed a fact sheet entitled, "Fixing the Penalty on Unemployed Seniors."

MOTION: Sen. Killpack moved to pass H.B. 8 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously.

5. H.B. 188 Donation of Surplus Computers to Persons with a Disability (*Rep. C. Bird*)

Rep. Bird presented the bill.

Kris Fawson, Co-Director, Legislative Coalition for People with Disabilities, displayed art pieces by a young man with a disability.

Steve Saltzgiver, Director, DAS/Surplus, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Tom Brownle, Advocate for People with Disabilities, spoke in support of the bill.

Marty Blair, Director, Utah Assistance Technology Program, spoke in support of the bill.

Joyce Dolcourt, Director of Government Affairs, The Arc of Utah, spoke in support of the bill.

Jane Nelson, Community Coalition of People with Disabilities, spoke in support of the bill.

Susan Psalmonds, Board Member, OPTIONS, spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Mayne moved to pass H.B. 188 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed with Sen. Killpack voting in opposition to the motion and Sen. Valentine absent at the time of voting.

MOTION: Sen. Jenkins moved to adjourn the meeting.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Valentine absent at the time of voting.

Chair Thomas adjourned the meeting at 3:15 p.m.

Minutes were reported by Bonnie Brinton, Secretary.

Sen. David Thomas, Committee Chair