## H.B. 103 SPECIAL DISTRICT FOR POLICE SERVICES

HOUSE FLOOR AMENDMENTS	AMENDMENT 3	February 6, 2004	10:03 AM
HOUSE TEOOR TWILLIUS		1 LDROART 0, 200+	10.05 AM

Representative **Ty McCartney** proposes the following amendments:

- 1. Page 1, Lines 13 through 22:
  - 13 This bill:

\* \* \* Some lines not shown \* \* \*

- 21 ► [[requires the county sheriff to perform for the county service area the functions and
  22 duties that the sheriff performs for the county ]] <u>authorizes the board to appoint the district's chief</u>
  <u>law enforcement officer</u>;
- 2. Page 10, Line 304 through Page 11, Line 312:
  - 304 (b) (i) The county whose unincorporated area is partially or fully included within the
  - 305 <u>county service area shall appoint</u> [[<u>two members</u>]] to the board of trustees <u>:</u>

(A) if the county has a population that does not exceed 50,000, one member who shall be:(I) in a county operating under the county executive-council form of government under

Section 17-52-504, the county executive; or

(II) in any other county, a member of the county commission or council;

- (B) if the county has a population over 50,000 but not over 100,000, two members who shall be:
- (I) in a county operating under the county executive-council form of government under Section 17-52-504, the county executive and a member of the county council; or

(II) in any other county, two members of the county commission or council;

(C) if the county has a population over 100,000 but not over 150,000, three members who shall be:

(I) in a county operating under the county executive-council form of government under Section 17-52-504, the county executive and two members of the county council; or

(II) in any other county, three members of the county commission or council; and

(D) if the county has a population over 150,000, four members who shall be:

(I) in a county operating under the county executive-council form of government under Section 17-52-504, the county executive and three members of the county council;

(II) in a county operating under a county commission form of government under Section

<u>17-52-501 or a council-manager form of government under Section 17-52-505 with a three-</u>

member council, the three commission or council members, as the case may be, and another

<u>elected county official chosen by the commission or council; or</u> (III) in any other county, four members of the county commission or council.

- 306 (ii) Each municipality whose area is included within the county service area, whether
- 307 in conjunction with the creation of the county service area or by later annexation, shall appoint
- 308 to the board of trustees:
- 309 (A) one member, if the municipality has a population that does not exceed 50,000 , who shall be the mayor ;
- 310 (B) two members, if the municipality has a population over 50,000 but [[-no-more than-]] not over
- 311 <u>100,000</u> , who shall be the mayor and a member of the municipal council ; [[and-]]
- 312 (C) three members, if the municipality has a population over 100,000 <u>but not over 150,000</u>, who shall be the mayor and two members of the municipal council; and (D) four members, if the municipality has a population over 150,000, who shall be the

mayor and three members of the municipal council \_\_\_\_\_

- *3. Page 11, Lines 317 through 320:* 
  - 317 (e) The [[-sheriff of the county whose unincorporated area is included within the county
  - **318** <u>service area shall be</u>]] <u>board of trustees shall appoint an individual to serve as</u> the chief law enforcement officer of the county service area [[<u>and shall</u>]
  - 319 perform for the county service area all functions and duties that the sheriff is authorized and
  - 320 <u>required to perform for the county</u>]] <u>to oversee all law enforcement activities within the</u> <u>county service area</u>.