# MINUTES OF HOUSE EDUCATION STANDING COMMITTEE

January 24, 2005

Room W135, State Capitol Complex

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair

Rep. LaVar Christensen, Vice Chair

Rep. Ron Bigelow
Rep. Duane Bourdeaux
Rep. John Dougall
Rep. James A. Ferrin
Rep. James R. Gowans
Rep. Kory M. Holdaway
Rep. Gregory H. Hughes
Rep. Bradley T. Johnson
Rep. Carol Spackman Moss
Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold

Rep. Merlynn T. Newbo Rep. LaWanna Shurtliff Rep. Stephen Urquhart

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Rep. David L. Hogue

**STAFF PRESENT:** Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst

Cindy Baker, Committee Secretary

Dee S Larsen, Associate General Counsel

Note: List of visitors and copy of handouts are filed with committee minutes.

Chair Dayton called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. and welcomed committee members. Rep. Moss was called on to give a one minute lesson on grammar.

**MOTION:** Rep. Johnson moved to approve the minutes of January 20, 2005. The motion

passed unanimously with Representatives Bigelow, Dougall, Ferrin, Hughes,

Newbold, Shurtliff, and Urquhart absent for the vote.

Chair Dayton relinquished the chair to Vice Chair Christensen at 8:06 a.m.

### H.C.R.6 Resolution Recognizing Utah's Legislators Back to School Program (Dayton)

Rep. Dayton, assisted by Shelly Day, explained the resolution, which expresses support for civic education and Utah's Legislators Back to School Program.

**MOTION:** Rep. Bourdeaux moved to amend the resolution as follows:

Minutes of House Education Committee January 24, 2005 Page 2

- 1. Page 2, Lines 34 through 35:
- WHEREAS, Utah legislators met personally with [[-16,500-]] 17,200 students in [[-165-]] 200 schools and
- 35 [[-545-]] <u>575</u> classrooms in [[-2003-]] <u>2004</u> to answer questions and listen to concerns on issues

  The motion passed unanimously with Representatives Bigelow, Dougall, and
  Urquhart absent for the vote.
  - **MOTION:** Rep. Newbold moved to pass the resolution out favorably as amended. The motion passed unanimously with Representatives Bigelow, Dougall, and Urquhart absent for the vote.
  - **MOTION:** Rep. Johnson moved to place the bill on the consent calender. The motion passed unanimously with Representatives Bigelow, Dougall, and Urquhart absent for the vote.

Chair Dayton resumed the chair at 8:12 a.m.

#### S.B. 18 Regulating Proprietary Postsecondary Schools (D. Eastman)

Sen. Eastman says the bill gives the Department of Commerce more oversight of postsecondary proprietary schools.

Francine Gianni, Director, Division of Consumer Affairs, distributed information about the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Newbold moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Representatives Bigelow and Urquhart absent for the vote.

## H.B.189 Applied Technology Program Amendments ( J. Ferrin )

Rep. Ferrin, assisted by Eric Smith, introduced the bill which authorizes a local school board to allow a student in grade seven or eight to earn additional credit in certain subjects in lieu of taking the Technology, Life, and Careers course.

Stephen Whitehouse addressed questions.

The following spoke in opposition to the bill: Christine Kearl, Associate Superintendent, Utah State Office of Education Minutes of House Education Committee January 24, 2005 Page 3

Gary Cameron, Utah School Boards Association

Pat Rusk, Utah Education Association, expressed concerns about the bill and noted the UEA had not decided on the issue.

**MOTION:** Rep. Dougall moved to pass the bill out favorably.

**MOTION:** Rep. Holdaway moved to cut off debate. The motion passed with Rep.

Dayton voting in opposition and Representatives Bigelow and Johnson

absent for the vote.

A vote was taken on Rep. Dougall's motion. The motion passed with Representatives Bourdeaux, Gowans, Moss and Shurtliff voting in opposition and Representatives Bigelow and Johnson absent for the vote.

#### H.C.R. 1 Resolution Promoting Moderately Sized Schools (D. Cox)

Rep. Cox introduced the resolution which encourages more moderately sized, simple, community based schools.

**MOTION:** Rep. Dougall moved to pass the resolution out favorably. The motion passed

with Representatives Christensen and Urquhart voting in opposition and

Representatives Ferrin and Johnson absent for the vote.

**MOTION:** Rep. Hughes moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with

Representatives Ferrin and Johnson absent for the vote

Chair Dayton adjourned the meeting at 9:37 a.m.