MINUTES OF HOUSE EDUCATION STANDING COMMITTEE

January 25, 2005

Room W135, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair

Rep. LaVar Christensen, Vice Chair

Rep. Ron Bigelow
Rep. Duane Bourdeaux
Rep. John Dougall
Rep. James R. Gowans
Rep. David L. Hogue
Rep. Kory M. Holdaway
Rep. Bradley T. Johnson

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold

Rep. LaWanna Shurtliff

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rep. James A. Ferrin

Rep. Gregory Hughes Rep. Stephen H. Urquhart

STAFF PRESENT: Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst

Cindy Baker, Committee Secretary

Dee S. Larsen, Associate General Counsel

Note: List of visitors and copy of handouts are filed with committee minutes.

Chair Dayton called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m and welcomed committee members. The minutes of January 24, 2005 were not approved as a quorum was not present at the beginning of the meeting.

H.B. 188 Beginning Teacher Enhancements (B. Johnson)

Rep. Johnson, assisted by Rep. Gowans, and Rep. Menlove, introduced the bill, which creates a program to enhance the compensation of beginning teachers and provides money for teacher mentoring programs.

Bruce Williams, Associate Superintendent, Davis School District, addressed questions of committee members.

January 25 20 Page 2	005
MOTION:	Rep. Christensen moved to adjourn. The vote was unanimous with Rep. Bigelov absent for the vote. Chair Dayton adjourned the meeting at 4:48 p.m.
	Rep. Margaret Dayton, Chair

Minutes of House Education Committee