MINUTES OF THE HOUSE POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS STANDING COMMITTEE

Room W125 - West Office Building, State Capitol Complex Tuesday, January 25, 2005

COMMITTEE MEMBERS: Rep. Brad L. Dee, Chair

Rep. M. Susan Lawrence, Vice Chair

Rep. D. Gregg Buxton Rep. Julie Fisher Rep. Kerry W. Gibson Rep. Ann W. Hardy Rep. Kory M. Holdaway

Rep. Brad King

Rep. Ronda Rudd Menlove Rep. LaWanna Lou Shurtliff

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rep. Ralph Becker

STAFF PRESENT: Joseph Wade, Policy Analyst

Doris Donat, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Representative Dee called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

Motion: Rep. Hardy moved to approve the minutes of January 21, 2005. The motion passed unanimously, with Rep. King absent for the vote.

H.B. 40 Repeal of Sunset of Township Provision (Rep. M. S. Lawrence)

Rep. Lawrence introduced H.B. 40.

Motion: Rep. Lawrence moved to delete in title and body H.B. 40 and replace it with 1st Substitute H.B. 40. The motion passed unanimously, with Rep. King absent for the vote.

Motion: Rep. Holdaway moved to amend the bill as follows:

- 1. Page 2, Lines 39 through 43:
 - 39 (2) each county of the first class and each municipality that is in a county of the first
 - 40 <u>class and is adjacent to a township area shall</u> <u>jointly</u> , by July 1, 2008, provide appropriate public
 - 41 information and funding to conduct a survey of residents and property owners within each
 - 42 township in the county to determine their desires about whether all or portions of
 - 43 unincorporated areas within the township should:

House Political Subdivisions Standing Committee January 25, 2005 Page 2

The Motion to amend passed unanimously, with Rep. King absent for the vote.

Spoke to the bill: Joan Haven, Millcreek Township

Lillian Rowley, citizen

Ken Smith, Mount Olympus Community Council Norm Fitzgerald, Magna Township ACCT

Michael Jensen, Salt Lake County Council

Joe Smolkey, Community Council, Emmigration Canyon Township

Lincoln Shurtz, Utah League of Cities and Towns

Wes Loffer, Mayor of South Salt Lake Janice Auger, Mayor of Taylorsville

Motion: Rep. Holdaway moved to pass 1st Sub H.B. 40 out favorably as amended. The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Dee relinquished the Chair to Rep. Lawrence.

S.B. 9 Aerospace and Aviation Development Zone Modifications (Sen. M. Dmitrich)

Rep. Dee introduced S.B. 9 and explained it to the committee.

Spoke in favor of the bill: David Spatafore, R.D.C (handout).

Motion: Rep. Shurtliff moved to pass S.B. 9 out favorably. The motion passed unanimously.

Motion: Rep. King moved that S.B. 9 be placed on the Consent Calender. The motion

passed unanimously.

Motion: Rep. Buxton moved to adjourn. The vote was unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 9:23 a.m.

Brad L. Dee, Chair	