MINUTES OF THE HOUSE RETIREMENT AND INDEPENDENT ENTITIES STANDING COMMITTEE Room W020, State Capitol Complex

February 7, 2005

| Members Present: | Rep. Michael T. Morley, Chair |
|-------------------------|--|
| | Rep. David Clark, Vice Chair |
| | Rep. Ron Bigelow |
| | Rep. Brent H. Goodfellow |
| | Rep. Neil A. Hansen |
| | Rep. Ann W. Hardy |
| | Rep. Rebecca Lockhart |
| | Rep. Karen W. Morgan |
| | Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold |
| Staff Present: | Mr. Benjamin N. Christensen, Policy Analyst Mr. Dee S. Larsen, Associate General Counsel Ms. Barbara Bryner, Committee Secretary |

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Morley called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Hansen moved to approve the minutes of the February 4, 2005 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Bigelow, Rep. Hardy and Rep. Lockhart absent for the vote.

H.B. 213 Unused Sick Leave At Retirement Amendments (*Rep. D. Clark*)

Rep. Clark explained the amended bill in the February 4, 2005 meeting.

The following people spoke against the bill:

Audry Wood, Executive Director of Utah Public Employees Association Phil Dyer, Legal Counsel for UPEA Wayne Bulkley, Utah Employees and Self Denise Clegg, Self and State Employees Kelly Atkinson, Executive Director, Fraternal Order of Police Robert Cobb, Older Retirees and Department of Correction Ken Wallentine, Utah Law Enforcement Legislative Committee Michael LaFontaine, Self Will Carlson, Self, State Employee Joe Hughes, Self, State Employee House Retirement and Independent Entities Standing Committee February 7, 2005 Page 2

Sarg Froehle, State Employee Verlin Hatch, Department of Corrections Christie Henshaw, Self

MOTION: Rep. Hansen moved to hold the bill for interim study.

SUBSTITUTE

- MOTION: Rep. Clark moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed with Rep. Goodfellow, Rep. Hansen and Rep. Morgan voting against the motion.
- MOTION: Rep. Hansen moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the Chair adjourned the meeting at 1:55 p.m.

Rep. Michael T. Morley, Chair