MINUTES OF THE

HOUSE TRANSPORTATION STANDING COMMITTEE

ROOM W135, WEST OFFICE BUILDING, STATE CAPITOL COMPLEX

February 21, 2005

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Joseph G. Murray, Chair

Rep. J. Stuart Adams, Vice-Chair

Rep. Tim M. Cosgrove Rep. Bradley M. Daw

Rep. Brad Dee Rep. John Dougall Rep. Jim Dunnigan Rep. Julie Fisher Rep. Kerry W. Gibson

Rep. Kerry W. Gibson Rep. Karen W. Morgan Rep. Peggy Wallace Rep. Larry B. Wiley

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rep. Jeff Alexander

Rep. David Clark Rep. Brad King

STAFF PRESENT: Benjamin N. Christensen, Policy Analyst

Rosemary Young, House Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Adams called the meeting to order at 4:03 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Gibson moved to approve the minutes of the February 18, 2005 meeting.

The motion passed unanimously with Reps. Cosgrove and Dougall absent for the

vote.

H.B. 314 Driving with Any Measurable Controlled Substance in the Body Revisions (*Rep. M. Noel*)

Rep. Dee explained the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Dunnigan moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed

unanimously with Reps. Cosgrove and Dougall absent for the vote.

1st Sub. H.B. 18 Transportation Investment Act (Rep. R. Lockhart)

Rep. Murray explained the bill assisted by Rep. Dee.

Chuck Chappell, Wasatch Front Regional Council, spoke in favor of the bill.

House Transportation Standing Committee February 21, 2005 Page 2

MOTION: Rep. Dougall moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Reps. Cosgrove, Dee and Dunnigan absent for the vote.

S.B. 51 New Motor Vehicle Franchise Act Amendments (Sen. D. Eastman)

MOTION: Rep. Dee moved to amend S.B. 51 as follows:

- 1. Page 2, Line 35:
 - 35 None This bill contains a coordination clause.
- 2. Page 28, Line 846:
 - 846 (d) qualified service personnel.

Section 16. Coordinating S.B. 51 with H.B. 47.

If this S.B. 51 and H.B. 47, New Automobile Franchise Act Amendments, both pass, it is the intent of the Legislature that the Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel shall prepare Subsection 13-14-201(1)(e)(i) in the Utah Code database to read, "(i) relieve a franchisor from any liability, including notice and hearing rights imposed on the franchisor by this chapter; or".

The motion passed unanimously with Reps. Cosgrove and Dunnigan absent for the vote.

Sen. Eastman explained the bill assisted by Chris Parker, Associate General Counsel

MOTION: Rep. Dee moved to pass S.B. 51 out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Reps. Cosgrove, Dougall and Dunnigan absent for the vote.

S.B. 134 Powersport Vehicle Franchise Act (Sen. D. Eastman)

Sen. Eastman explained the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Daw moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Reps. Cosgrove and Dunnigan absent for the vote.

1st Sub. S.B. 167 Penalties for False Driver Licenses and Identification Cards (Sen. C. Walker)

Sen. Walker explained the bill.

House Transportation Standing Committee February 21, 2005 Page 3

MOTION: Rep. Murray moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Cosgrove absent for the vote.

H.B. 337 Golf Carts Allowed on Certain Highways (Rep. C. Moss)

Rep. Moss explained the bill assisted by Pete Grime, a citizen.

MOTION: Rep. Wallace moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed with Reps. Dougall, Dunnigan and Fisher voting in opposition.

S.C.R. 5 Resolution Approving Settlement of Lawsuit (Sen. P. Knudson)

Rep. Dee explained the resolution.

MOTION: Rep. Morgan moved to pass the resolution out favorably. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Dougall absent for the vote.

S.B. 151 Driver Education Amendments (Sen. T. Hatch)

The bill was not considered at this meeting.

H.B. 367 Restrictions on High Occupancy Vehicle Lane (Rep. D. Litvack)

The bill was not considered at this meeting.

MOTION: Rep. Gibson moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Reps. Dougall and Dunnigan absent for the vote.

Rep. Adams adjourned the meeting at 4:46 p.m.

Representative Joseph G. Murray Committee Chair