## MINUTES OF THE SENATE GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS & POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS STANDING COMMITTEE TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 22, 2005 ROOM W020, WEST OFFICE BUILDING, CAPITOL BUILDING

Members Present: Sen. Parley G. Hellewell, Chair

Sen. Allen M. Christensen

Sen. Gene Davis Sen. Karen Hale Sen. Bill Hickman

Staff Present: Phillip Dean, Policy Analyst

Nedra Duzett, Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Audry Wood, Executive Director, Utah Public Employee Assn.

Wayne Bulkley, Deputy Warden, Dept. of Corrections

Mark Jones, State District Court Administer, Utah Judical Council

Krisann Humphreys, Senior AE, State Employees

John Jones, Department of Public Safety, Utah Highway Patrol

Neil Porter, State Trooper, Dept. of Public Safety

Kelly Atkinson, Fraternal Order of Police

Ron Casper, National Federation of Independent Business

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Committee Chair Hellewell called the meeting to order at 8:10 a.m.

## 1. H.B. 213 Unused Sick Leave at Retirement Amendments (D. Clark)

Rep. Clark explained the bill.

The following spoke in opposition to the bill:

Audry Wood, Executive Director, Utah Public Employee Assn.

Wayne Bulkley, Deputy Warden, Dept. of Corrections

Mark Jones, State District Court Administer, Utah Judical Council

Krisann Humphreys, Senior AE, State Employees

John Jones, DPS, UHPA, UPEA

Neil Porter, State Trooper, Dept. of Public Safety

Kelly Atkinson, Fraternal Order of Police

The following spoke in support of the bill:

Ron Casper, National Federation of Independent Business

Minutes of the Senate Government Operations and Political Subdivisions Standing Committee February 22, 2005
Page 2

**MOTION:** Sen. Hickman moved that the bill not receive a favorable recommendation from the committee.

The motion passed with Sen. Davis and Sen. Hale voting in opposition.

**MOTION:** Sen. Hickman moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously.

Committee Chair Hellewell adjourned the meeting at 9:05 a.m.

Minutes reported by Nedra Duzett, Secretary

Sen. Parley G. Hellewell, Committee Chair