MINUTES OF THE SENATE NATURAL RESOURCES, AGRICULTURE, AND ENVIRONMENT STANDING COMMITTEE Tuesday, February 15, 2005 Utah State Capitol Complex, West Office Building, Suite W015

Members Present:	Sen. Michael Waddoups, Chair Sen. Fred Fife Sen. Thomas Hatch Sen. Scott McCoy Sen. Darin Peterson
Member Excused:	Sen. Beverly Evans
Staff Present:	J Brian Allred, Policy Analyst Jeanenne Larson, Associate General Counsel Saundra Maeser, Secretary
Public Speakers Present:	Sarah Wright, Director, Utah Clean Energy Diane Nielson, Exec. Director, Dept. of Environmental Quality Kathy VanDame, Policy Coordinator, Wasatch Clean Air Coalition Beverly Miller, Director, Utah Clean Cities Program Mark Clemens, Legislative Liaison, Sierra Club Chris Roybal, Governor's Senior Advisor for Economic Development Rick Allis, Director, Utah Geological Survey Betsy Wolf, Salt Lake Community Action Program Kevin Carter, Director, School and Institutional Trust Lands Admin. Tom Bingham, Pres., Utah Manufacturers Assn. and Mining Assn. Wally McCormick, WARN Utah-10

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Committee Chair Waddoups called the meeting to order at 9:06 a.m.

<u>1. Approval of Minutes</u>

MOTION: Sen. Fife moved to approve the minutes of February 11, 2005.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Peterson absent at the time of voting.

2. S.B. 199 Office of Energy - Oversight (Sen. T. Hatch)

Sen. Hatch introduced the bill.

Minutes of the Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Standing Committee Tuesday, February 15, 2005 Page 2

MOTION: Sen. Hatch moved to replace S.B. 199 with 1st Substitute S.B. 199.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Peterson absent at the time of voting.

Diane Nielson, Executive Director, Dept. of Environmental Quality; Chris Roybal, Governor's Senior Advisor for Economic Development; and Rick Allis, Director, Utah Geological Survey, spoke in support of the bill.

Jeanenne Larson, Assoc. General Counsel, clarified questions from the committee.

Sarah Wright, Director, Utah Clean Energy; Kathy VanDame, Policy Coordinator, Wasatch Clean Air Coalition; Beverly Miller, Director, Utah Clean Cities Program; Mark Clemens, Legislative Liaison, Sierra Club; and Betsy Wolf, Salt Lake Community Action Program, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Fife moved to refer 1st Sub. S.B. 199 to interim study.

SUBSTITUTE MOTION: Sen. Hatch moved to pass 1st Sub. S.B. 199, Office of Energy - Oversight *(Sen. T. Hatch),* out favorably.

The motion passed with Sen. Waddoups, Sen. Hatch and Sen. Peterson voting in support and Sen. Fife and Sen. McCoy voting in opposition.

3. S.B. 239 Public Lands Policy Coordination (Sen. T. Hatch)

Sen. Hatch introduced the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hatch moved to adopt the following amendment to S.B. 239:

- 1. Page 4, Lines 100 through 106:
 - 100 (1) There is created the Public Lands Policy Coordinating Council composed of the
 - 101 <u>following</u> [[<u>five</u>]] <u>seven</u> <u>members:</u>
 - 102 (a) one individual, appointed by the governor, who shall serve as chair of the council;
 - 103 (b) one member of the Senate appointed by the president of the Senate:
 - 104 (c) one member of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker of the House
 - 105 <u>of Representatives;</u> [[<u>and</u>]]
 - 106 (d) two individuals appointed by the Utah Association of Counties [[--]] :

Minutes of the Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Standing Committee Tuesday, February 15, 2005 Page 3

<u>and</u>

(e) the executive director of the Department of Natural Resources and the director of the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration as ex officio, non-voting members.

2. Page 6, Lines 169 through 170:

169 [[-If approved by two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, this]] This bill takes effect

170 <u>on [[April 1]] May 15</u>, 2005.

The motion passed unanimously.

Kevin Carter, Director, School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration; Tom Bingham, President, Utah Manufacturers Association and Mining Association; and Wally McCormick, WARN Utah-10, spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hatch moved to pass S.B. 239, Public Lands Policy Coordination *(Sen. T. Hatch)*, out favorably as amended.

The motion passed unanimously.

4. H.B. 150 Water Rights Fees (Rep. J. Gowans)

Rep. James Gowans introduced the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Fife moved to pass H.B. 150, Water Rights Fees (*Rep. J. Gowans*), out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously.

5. 1st Sub. H.B. 155 Agricultural Coop Amendments (Rep. C. Buttars)

Rep. Craig Buttars introduced the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hatch moved to pass 1st Sub. H.B. 155, Agricultural Coop Amendments (*Rep. C. Buttars*), out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously.

Minutes of the Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Standing Committee Tuesday, February 15, 2005 Page 4

6. H.B. 156 Dairy Promotion Act Amendments (Rep. D. Ure)

Rep. David Ure introduced the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Hatch moved to pass H.B. 156, Dairy Promotion Act Amendments (*Rep. D. Ure*), out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. Peterson moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Waddoups adjourned the meeting at 10:03 a.m.

Minutes reported by Saundra Maeser, Secretary

Michael Waddoups, Committee Chair