## 1st Sub. S.B. 227

## PUBLIC SAFETY DRIVING PRIVILEGE AND IDENTIFICATION CARD AMENDMENTS

HOUSE FLOOR AMENDMENTS

AMENDMENT 2

MARCH 1, 2005

2:33 PM

Representative **Aaron Tilton** proposes the following amendments:

- 1. *Page 2, Lines 34 through 38:* 
  - provides that a driver license certificate <u>or identification card</u> expires on the person's next birthday after
  - 35 July 1, 2005 if:
  - the driver license <u>or identification card</u> was obtained without using a Social Security number; and
  - the driver license certificate {-or-} driving privilege card \_\_or identification \_\_o
  - 38 certain ways by the division;
- 2. *Page 2, Lines 44 through 45:* 
  - 44 Other Special Clauses:
  - This bill provides an immediate effective date.

This bill provides a coordination clause.

- 3. Page 2, Line 53:
  - 53 53-3-806, as last amended by Chapters 30 and 309, Laws of Utah 2003 53-3-807, as last amended by Chapter 30, Laws of Utah 2003
- 4. Page 14, Lines 403 through 404:
  - 403 (5) A governmental entity may not accept an identification card distinguished under
  - 404 Subsection (4) as proof of personal identification.

Section 7. Section 53-3-807 is amended to read:

53-3-807. Expiration -- Address and name change -- Extension for disabled.

- (1) { The } Except as provided under Subsections (6) and (7), the identification card expires on the birth date of the applicant in the tenth year following the issuance of the identification card { , except as provided under Subsection (6) } .
- (2) If a person has applied for and received an identification card and subsequently moves from the address shown on the application or on the card, the person shall within ten days notify the division in a manner specified by the division of his new address.

- (3) If a person has applied for and received an identification card and subsequently changes his name under Title 42, Chapter 1, Change of Name, he:
- (a) shall surrender the card to the division; and
- (b) may apply for a new card in his new name by:
- (i) furnishing proper documentation to the division as provided in Section 53-3-804; and
- (ii) paying the fee required under Section 53-3-105.
- (4) A person older than 21 years of age with a disability, as defined under the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, Pub. L. 101-336, may extend the expiration date on an identification card for ten years if the person with a disability or an agent of the person with a disability:
- (a) requests that the division send the application form to obtain the extension or requests an application form in person at the division's offices;
- (b) completes the application;
- (c) certifies that the extension is for a person 21 years of age or older with a disability; and
- (d) returns the application to the division together with the identification card fee required under Section 53-3-105.
- (5) (a) An identification card may only be extended once.
- (b) After an extension an application for an identification card must be applied for in person at the division's offices.
- (6) {An} Except as provided in Subsection (7), an identification card issued to a person 65 years of age or older does not expire, but continues in effect until the death of that person.
- (7) An identification card expires on the next birth date of the applicant or card holder beginning on July 1, 2005 if:
- (a) the identification card was obtained without using a Social Security number as required under Subsection 53-3-804(2); and
  - (b) the identification card is not clearly distinguished as required under Subsection 53-3-806(4).
- 5. Page 14, Line 409:
  - 409 the date of veto override.

Section 6. Coordinating S.B. 227 with H.B. 223.

Notwithstanding the coordination clause in H.B. 223, Amendments to Driver License and Identification Cards, it is the intent of the Legislature, that Subsection (1) of the coordination clause in H.B. 223 be deleted and renumber the remaining subsections accordingly.