1	INTERIM RULES RESOLUTION -
2	COMMITTEE POWERS
3	2006 GENERAL SESSION
4	STATE OF UTAH
5	Chief Sponsor: Michael G. Waddoups
6	House Sponsor: Rebecca D. Lockhart
7	
8	LONG TITLE
9	General Description:
10	This resolution modifies Interim Rules governing public comment during meetings.
11	Highlighted Provisions:
12	This resolution:
13	 allows a chair or committee to require public comment to be given under oath; and
14	 provides for the administration of the oath.
15	Special Clauses:
16	This resolution provides an immediate effective date.
17	Legislative Rules Affected:
18	AMENDS:
19	IR3-1-104
20	
21	Be it resolved by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
22	Section 1. IR3-1-104 is amended to read:
23	IR3-1-104. Visitors.
24	(1) As used in this rule, "committee" means any interim committee, special committee,
25	or subcommittee.
26	[(1)] (2) (a) The chair shall ensure that visitors to a committee meeting or hearing sit in
27	chairs designated for that purpose.
28	(b) The chair may not allow visitors to speak during a committee meeting unless:
29	(i) the chair specifically invites them to speak; or

S.J.R. 4

30	(ii) the meeting has been designated a public hearing and the visitors agree to comply
31	with any restrictions on time and order announced by the chair.
32	(3) (a) If the chair allows public comment or testimony on a bill or other matter before
33	the committee, the chair may, or a majority of the committee may, require that any or all
34	person's testimony be taken under oath.
35	(b) The oath shall be administered by the committee chair, cochair, or committee staff.
36	[(2)] (4) The chair shall:
37	(a) ensure that the number of visitors, members, and staff at a hearing or meeting does
38	not exceed the number posted by the state fire marshal as the limit of occupancy for the room
39	where the meeting is held; and
40	(b) announce when the limit is reached and prevent the entry of additional persons into
41	the room.
42	Section 2. Effective date.
43	This resolution takes effect upon approval by a constitutional majority vote of all
44	members of the Senate and House of Representatives.