MINUTES OF THE HOUSE

PUBLIC UTILITIES & TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

Room W025, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex February 8, 2006

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Sheryl L. Allen, Chair

Rep. Fred R. Hunsaker, Vice Chair

Rep. Bradley M. Daw Rep. Ben C. Ferry Rep. Janice Fisher Rep. Lorie D. Fowlke Rep. Michael E. Noel Rep. Aaron Tilton Rep. David Ure

Rep. Richard Wheeler

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rep. Ralph Becker

Rep. Larry B. Wiley

STAFF PRESENT: Richard North, Policy Analyst

Linda Black, Committee Secretary

NOTE: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Representative Hunsaker called the meeting to order at 2:35 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Noel moved to approve the minutes of January 31, 2006.

The motion passed unanimously, with Rep. Fowlke, Rep. Ure, and Rep. Wheeler

absent for the vote.

MOTION: Rep. Allen moved to approve the minutes of February 6, 2006. The motion

passed unanimously, with Rep. Fowlke, Rep. Ure, and Rep. Wheeler absent for

the vote.

H.B. 335 Radiation Control Act - Bond Requirements (Rep. A. Tilton)

Rep. Tilton addressed **H.B. 335.** The following is a continuation of testimony which began February 6, 2006.

Spoke to the bill: Dr. Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director, Department of Environmental

Quality

Fred Nelson, Office of the Attorney General, Radiation Control Board

Spoke in opposition

to the bill: Jason Groenewold, director, Healthy Environment Alliance of Utah

Claire Geddes, self

Ann Sward Hansen, self, Environmental Justice Foundation

Public Utilities & Technology Standing Committee February 8, 2006 Page 2

Spoke in opposition

to the bill (cont.) Robert Archibald, citizen

Michael Cowley, citizen

MOTION: Rep. Noel moved to pass the bill out favorably.

SUBSTITUTE

MOTION: Rep. Allen moved to hold the bill. The motion failed, with Rep. Fisher,

Rep. Fowlke, and Rep. Allen voting in favor.

The original motion to pass the bill out favorably passed, with Rep. Fisher, Rep. Fowlke, and Rep. Allen voting in opposition.

MOTION: Rep. Daw moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Hunsaker adjourned the meeting at 3:55 p.m.

Rep. Sheryl L. Allen, Chair