# MINUTES OF HOUSE EDUCATION STANDING COMMITTEE

January 30, 2007

Room W135, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Rep. Gregory H. Hughes, Chair

Rep. Patrick Painter, Vice Chair

Rep. Sylvia S. Andersen

Rep. Brad L. Dee

Rep. Craig A. Frank

Rep. James R. Gowans

Rep. Kory M. Holdaway

Rep. Bradley G. Last

Rep. Rebecca D. Lockhart

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss

Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold

Rep. LaWanna "Lou" Shurtliff Rep. Kenneth W. Sumsion

Rep. Stephen Urquhart

Rep. Mark A. Wheatley

**STAFF PRESENT:** Constance C. Steffen, Policy Analyst

Diane Obeshaw, Committee Secretary

Dee S Larsen, Associate General Counsel

Note: List of visitors and copy of handouts are filed with committee minutes.

Rep. Hughes called the meeting to order at 3:27 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Newbold moved to amend the minutes of January 26, 2007 to reflect that

she was absent for the votes on H.B. 77. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Rep. Gowans moved to adopt the minutes of January 23, and January 26, 2007 as

amended. The motion passed unanimously.

#### **H.B.** 148 Education Vouchers

Rep. Urquhart introduced the bill which creates a program to award scholarships to students to attend a private school. Mr. Kenneth Johnson, Milwaukee School Board, discussed Milwaukee's experience with vouchers.

MOTION: Rep. Frank moved to amend the bill as follows:

1. Page 1, Lines 18 through 23:

18 scholarship payments; and

Minutes of House Education Committee January 30, 2007 Page 2

- 19 allows a school district to retain in enrollment a student that transfers to a private
- 20 school for a period of five years, with a deduction equal to the average scholarship
- 21 amount {; and
- 23 Minimum School Program .
- 2. Page 2, Line 43:
  - 43 {-53A-1a-812, Utah Code Annotated 1953-}
- 3. Page 4, Lines 106 through 108:
  - 106 (3) (a) To receive a scholarship, the parent of a student shall submit an application for
  - the scholarship to the board by the June 1 preceding the school year for which a scholarship is
  - sought, except the deadline for submitting an application for the 2007-08 school years is July {+} .
- 4. Page 4, Lines 112 through 114:
  - 112 (4) The board shall award scholarships by the July 1 preceding the school year for
  - which a scholarship is sought, except the deadline for awarding scholarships for the 2007-08
  - 114 school year is August  $\{-1-\}$  15, 2007.
- 5. Page 11, Lines 316 through 322:
  - 316 statewide.
    - (5) The monies deducted from a school district's minimum school program funds as provided in Subsection (4) shall be deposited into the Uniform School Fund.
  - 317 { Section 8. Section 53A-1a-808 is enacted to read:
  - 318 <u>53A-1a-808.</u> Transfer of balance.
  - After awarding the scholarships and budgeting for mitigation monies under this part.
  - 320 <u>the board shall transfer any remaining balance appropriated for scholarships or</u> <u>mitigation</u>
  - 321 monies to the kindergarten and grades 1-12 basic programs established under

Minutes of House Education Committee January 30, 2007 Page 3

#### Chapter 17a,

## 322 Minimum School Program Act.

### Renumber remaining sections accordingly.

The motion passed unanimously.

The following spoke in support of the bill:

Hillary Stirling

**Robert Higgins** 

Rachael Ringwood

Sean Davis

Teresa Wilcock

Richard and Angela Green

Carolyn Sharette

**Ruth Davis** 

Laura Johnson

Cheryl Earl

Steven Mouritsen

Michelle Dotson

Leah Barker, Children First

Darren Jenkins

Rep. Carl Wimmer

The following spoke in opposition to the bill:

Douglas Meredith

Vic Arnold, Utah Education Association

Doug Nelson, Salt Lake City Board of Education

Patrick Tanner, Utah School Boards Association

Kim Burningham, State Board of Education

Kim Jensen

Kathy Tenney

Carmen Snow, Utah PTA

Patti Harrington, Utah Superintendent of Education

Lisa Johnson

Steven Peterson, Utah School Board of Education, Utah Superintendent of Education

Geoff W. Leonard, Utah School Employees Association

Heather Bennett, Utah Board of Education

Paul Reimann

Dr. Betty Makkinsen

Minutes of House Education Committee January 30, 2007 Page 4

Rob Miller Dee Burningham

MOTION: Rep. Lockhart moved to pass the bill out favorably as amended. The motion

passed with Rep. Gowans, Rep. Holdaway, Rep. Shurtliff, Rep. Last, and Rep.

Wheatley voting in opposition of the bill.

Rep. Moss gave a grammar lesson on the proper use of "effect" and "affect".

MOTION: Rep. Holdaway moved to adjourn the meeting at 5:05 p.m. The motion passed

unanimously.

Rep. Gregory H. Hughes, Chair