MINUTES OF THE HOUSE POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS STANDING COMMITTEE

Room W125, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex Tuesday, January 16, 2007

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Fred R Hunsaker, Chair

Rep. Scott L Wyatt, Vice Chair

Rep. Sheryl L. Allen Rep. Ralph Becker Rep. D. Gregg Buxton Rep. James A. Dunnigan

Rep. Gage Froerer
Rep. Kerry W. Gibson
Rep. Jennifer M. Seelig
Rep. LaWanna Lou Shurtliff

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rep. Stephen H. Urquhart

STAFF PRESENT: Joseph Wade, Policy Analyst

Doris Donat, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Hunsaker called the meeting to order at 8:13 a.m.

H.J.R. 2 RESOLUTION SUPPORTING ENERGY EFFICIENCY (Rep. R. Becker)

Rep. Becker introduced and explained the bill to the Committee.

Spoke to the bill: Sarah Wright, Director, Utah Clean Energy

Ruland Gill, Questar Corporation

David Litvin, President, Utah Mining Association

Mike Peterson, Executive Director, Utah Rural Electric Association

MOTION: Rep. Allen moved that the Committee recommend H.J.R. 2 favorably. The motion

passed unanimously, with Rep. Urguhart absent for the vote.

H.B. 73 PRICE CONTROLS DURING EMERGENCIES ACT (L. Shurtliff)

Rep. Shurtliff introduced and explained the bill to the Committee, with the help of Gary McKean, Deputy Davis County Attorney. A handout was distributed.

House Political Subdivisions Standing Committee January 16, 2006 Page 2

Spoke to the bill: Jim Olsen, President, Utah Retail Merchants Association

Lee Peacock, Utah Petroleum Association Thad LeVar, Utah Department of Commerce

Lance Peterson, Director of Emergency Management and Homeland Security for

Weber County

MOTION: Rep. Buxton moved to adjourn the meeting. The vote was unanimous. Rep. Hunsaker

adjourned the meeting at 9:12 a.m.

Rep. Fred R Hunsaker, Chair