MINUTES OF THE HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE Room W135 - West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

February 9, 2007

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Rep. John Dougall, Chair Rep. Craig A. Frank, Vice Chair Rep. Roger Barrus Rep. Tim M. Cosgrove Rep. Wayne A. Harper Rep. Christine Johnson Rep. Roz McGee Rep. Carol Spackman Moss Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Rep. Ron Bigelow Rep. Gregory H. Hughes Rep. Bradley G. Last Rep. Gordon E. Snow Rep. Aaron Tilton Rep. Carl Wimmer
STAFF:	Bryant Howe, Assistant Director Rosemary Young, Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Dougall called the meeting to order at 3:12 p.m. At the request of the chair Commissioner Pam Hendrickson of the Utah State Tax Commission discussed the many options of electronic filing of taxes. About 54% of taxes are now filed electronically.

MOTION: Rep. Barrus moved to approve the minutes of the February 7, 2007 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

H.B. 388 Motor and Special Fuel Tax Amendments (*Rep. C. Frank*)

Rep. Frank, assisted by Brad Randall, a petroleum distributer, introduced the bill and explained it to the committee.

MOTION: Rep. Harper moved to transmit the bill with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. McGee absent for the vote.

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee February 9, 2007 Page 2

H.B. 378 Sales and Use Tax Amendments (*Rep. W. Harper*)

Rep. Harper introduced the bill and explained it to the committee with a summarizing handout. Jim Olsen, Utah Retail Merchants Association, spoke in favor of the bill. Roger Tew, Utah League of Cities and Towns; Doug Macdonald, Utah Issues, (handout); and Mike Jerman, Utah Taxpayers Association, spoke to the bill. During the discussion Rep. Dougall relinquished the chair to Rep. Frank.

MOTION: Rep. Barrus moved to transmit the bill with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed with Rep. Cosgrove, Rep. Johnson, and Rep. McGee voting in opposition.

MOTION: Rep. Johnson moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Frank adjourned the meeting at 4:11 p.m.

Rep. John Dougall, Chair