MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION STANDING COMMITTEE

Thursday, February 1, 2007

Room W130, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

Members Present: Sen. Margaret Dayton, Committee Chair

Sen. Greg Bell

Sen. Curtis Bramble

Sen. Pat Jones

Sen. Darin Peterson Sen. Ross Romero

Sen. Howard A. Stephenson

Members Excused: Sen. Lyle Hillyard

Staff Present: Phillip V. Dean, Policy Analyst

Dee S. Larsen, Attorney Norda Shepard, Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Rep. Michael T. Morley

Rep. Eric K. Hutchings

Rep. LaWanna Lou Shurtliff

Rep. Jack Draxler Dr. Tom Metcalf

Carol Murphy, Disability Law Center

Dr. Louis Moench, Utah Psychiatric Association

Dr. Jeff Schmidt, President, Utah Pediatric Association

Karen Clark, Utah Eagle Forum

Roland Gill

Cheryl Phipps, Utah PTA

Tamera Lowe, Utah School Boards Association

Ray Timothy, Dep. Superintendent, Utah State Board of Education

Debbie Swenson

Noel Zabriskie, Superintendent, Ogden City Schools

Bruce Pendlay, Ogden City Schools

Kristi Swett, Vice President, Salt Lake City School Board

Vik Arnold, Utah Education Association

Steve Peterson, Utah School Board/Superintendents Association

Tifny Iacona, Granite School District

Natalie Gordon, Utah PTA

Kim R. Burningham, Chairman, Utah State Board of Education

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Minutes of the Senate Education Standing Committee Thursday, February 1, 2007 Page 2

Committee Chair Dayton called the meeting to order at 7:57 a.m.

Chair Dayton announced the order of the agenda would be changed.

1. H.B. 202 Medical Recommendations for Children

Rep. Michael T. Morley presented the bill. Dr. Tom Metcalf, a Salt Lake pediatrician; Carol Murphy, Disability Law Center; Dr. Louis Moench, Utah Psychiatric Association; and Dr. Jeff Schmidt, President, Utah Pediatric Association, spoke in opposition. Karen Clark, Utah Eagle Forum, spoke in support.

Due to time restraints and the number of people wishing to speak, others were asked to sign their name and indicate their stand on the bill. Those signing in opposition were Patrice Schell, Voices for Utah Children; Heather Bennett, Salt Lake City Board of Education; Sherri Wittwer, Executive Director, NAMI Utah; Jake Short, consumer youth advocate; and Dan Olympia, Utah School Psychology Association.

Vik Arnold, Utah Education Association, wrote he had concerns and Ray Timothy, Deputy Superintendent, Utah State Office of Education; Rhoda Rose, Utah PTA, and Mike Johnsen, Superintendent Tooele County School District, signed but did not indicated preference.

MOTION: Sen. Stephenson moved to pass H.B. 202, Medical Recommendations for Children, out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed with Sens. Bell and Romero voting in opposition.

2. S.B. 194 Boards of Education Membership Amendments

Sen. Curtis S. Bramble presented the bill. Roland Gill, private citizen, and Cheryl Phipps, Utah PTA spoke in support. Tamera Lowe, Utah School Boards Association; Ray Timothy, Deputy Superintendent, Utah State Office of Education; and Debbie Swenson, school board member, spoke in opposition.

Signing the paper stating her support was Karen Clark, Utah Eagle Forum. Signing in opposition was Heather Bennett, Salt Lake City School Board. Those signing with no preference listed were Bruce Penland, Executive Director, Ogden School District; Cheryl Phipps, Utah PTA; Ray Timothy, Utah State Office of Education; and Patti O'Keefe, League of Women Voters.

MOTION: Sen. Bramble moved to pass S.B. 194, Boards of Education Membership Amendments, out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

Minutes of the Senate Education Standing Committee Thursday, February 1, 2007 Page 3

The motion passed with Sens. Jones and Romero voting in opposition.

3. H.B. 68 School Fee Waiver Amendments

Rep. LaWanna Lou Shurtliff presented the bill and distributed an information handout. Noel Zabriskie, Superintendent, Ogden City Schools; Bruce Pendlay, Ogden City Schools; Rep. Jack Draxler; Kristi Swett, Vice President, Salt Lake City School District; Vik Arnold, Utah Education Association; Steve Peterson, Utah School Boards Association; and Cheryl Phipps, Utah PTA spoke in support.

MOTION: Sen. Stephenson moved to pass H.B. 68, School Fee Waiver Amendments, out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Bell and Bramble absent at the time of the vote.

4. H.B. 207 School Truancy and Compulsory Education Amendments

Rep. Eric K. Hutchings presented the bill.

Tifny Iacona, Granite School District; Ray Timothy, Deputy Superintendent, Utah State Office of Education; and Steve Peterson, State Superintendents Association, spoke in support.

MOTION: Sen. Jones moved to pass H. B. 207, School Truancy and Compulsory Education Amendments, out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Bramble absent at the time of the vote.

5. S.J.R. 11 Resolution Providing Appointment of State Superintendent of Education

Sen. Bell offered a substitute bill.

MOTION: Sen. Bell moved to delete S.J.R. 11, Resolution Providing Appointment of State Superintendent of Education, in title and body and replace with 1st Sub. S.J.R. 11, Resolution Providing Appointment of State Superintendent of Education,

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Bramble absent at the time of the vote.

Sen. Bell presented the substitute bill. Natalie Gordon, Utah PTA; Steve Peterson, Utah School Boards and Superintendents Association; and Kim R. Burningham, Chairman, Utah State Board of Education spoke in opposition.

Minutes of the Senate Education Standing Committee Thursday, February 1, 2007 Page 4

MOTION: Sen. Stephenson moved to pass 1st Sub. S.J.R. 11, Resolution Providing Appointment of State Superintendent of Education, out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed with Sens. Jones and Romero voting in opposition and Sen. Bramble absent at the time of the vote.

MOTION: Sen. Bell moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Bramble absent at the time of the vote.

Chair Dayton adjourned the meeting at 9:59 a.m.

Minutes were reported by Norda Shepard, Secretary.

Sen. Margaret Dayton, Committee Chair