## MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION STANDING COMMITTEE

Thursday, February 15, 2007 Room W130, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

Members Present: Sen. Margaret Dayton, Committee Chair

Sen. Greg Bell Sen. Pat Jones Sen. Darin Peterson Sen. Ross Romero

Sen. Howard A. Stephenson

Members Excused: Sen. Curtis Bramble

Sen. Lyle Hillyard

Staff Present: Connie Steffen, Policy Analyst

Dee S. Larsen, Attorney Norda Shepard, Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Rep. Ronda Menlove

Ray Timothy, Deputy Superintendent, Utah State Board of

Education

Vic Arnold, Utah Education Association

Steve Peterson, Utah School Boards and Utah Superintendents

**Associations** 

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Dayton called the meeting to order at 9:19 a.m.

**MOTION:** Sen. Bell moved to approve the minutes of February 13, 2007. The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Peterson and Stephenson absent at the time of the vote.

## 1. H.B. 240 Public Education Job Enhancement Program Amendments

Rep. Ronda Menlove presented the bill. Ray Timothy, Deputy Superintendent, State Office of Education, helped in the presentation and spoke in support. Mr. Timothy distributed handouts.

Sen. Bell indicated that he would have to leave before a vote was taken but wished to note he was in favor of the bill.

Vic Arnold, Utah Education Association, and Steve Peterson, Utah School Boards and Utah School Superintendents Associations, spoke in support.

Minutes of the Senate Education Standing Committee Thursday, February 15, 2007 Page 2

**MOTION:** Sen. Stephenson moved to pass H.B. 240, Public Education Job Enhancement Program Amendments, out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Bell absent at the time of the vote.

**MOTION:** Sen. Jones moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Bell absent at the time of the vote.

Chair Dayton adjourned the meeting at 9:35 a.m.

Minutes were reported by Norda Shepard, Secretary.

Sen. Margaret Dayton, Committee Chair