MINUTES OF THE WORKFORCE SERVICES & COMMUNITY & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT STANDING COMMITTEE

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 31, 2007 - 8:30 A.M. Room W015, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

Members Present: Sen. Mark Madsen, Committee Chair

Sen. Dan Eastman Sen. Fred Fife

Sen. Sheldon Killpack Sen. Patricia Jones Sen. Dennis Stowell

Staff Present: Art Hunsaker, Policy Analyst

Norda Shepard, Committee Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Melva Sine, President/CEO, Utah Restaurant Association

Brent Gardner, Association of Counties

Wayne Jones, Exe. Dir., Salt Lake Valley Lodging Association

Mont Evans, Utah Restaurant Association

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Acting Chair Stowell called the meeting to order at 8:47 a.m.

1. S.B. 68 Funding for Tourism Promotion

Sen. Wayne L. Niederhauser presented the bill. Melva Sine, President/CEO, Utah Restaurant Association, responded to committee questions and spoke in support. She distributed a handout showing taxes collected from the counties. Brent Gardner, representing the Association of Counties, and Wayne Jones, Executive Director, Salt Lake Valley Lodging Association voiced concerns. Mont Evans, representing the Utah Restaurant Association spoke in support.

Sen. Madsen assumed the chair.

MOTION: Sen. Jones moved to move to the next item on the agenda. The motion passed unanimously.

2. Approval of Minutes

MOTION: Sen. Killpack moved to approve the minutes of January 29, 2007. The motion passed unanimously.

Minutes of the Workforce Services & Community & Economic Development Committee Wednesday, January 31, 2007
Page 2

3. H.B. 59 Utah International Trade Commission

Rep. Sheryl L. Allen presented the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Killpack moved to pass H.B. 59, Utah International Trade Commission, out with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Eastman absent at the time of the vote.

MOTION: Sen. Stowell moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Eastman absent at the time of the vote.

Chair Madsen adjourned the meeting at 9:43 a.m.

Minutes were reported by Norda Shepard, Secretary.

Sen. Mark Madsen, Committee Chair