## MINUTES OF THE WORKFORCE SERVICES & COMMUNITY & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT STANDING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 2007 - 9:17 A.M. Room W015, West Office Building, State Capitol Complex

Members Present:	Sen. Mark Madsen, Committee Chair Sen. Dan Eastman Sen. Fred Fife Sen. Sheldon Killpack Sen. Patricia Jones Sen. Dennis Stowell
Staff Present:	Art Hunsaker, Policy Analyst Norda Shepard, Committee Secretary
Public Speakers Present:	Rick Mayfield, Executive Director, Utah Defense Alliance Alan Hansen, Chairman, Davis County Commission

A list of visitors is filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Madsen called the meeting to order at 9:17 a.m. and announced that1st Sub. S.B. 68, Funding for Tourism Promotion, would be pulled from the agenda at the request of the sponsor.

**MOTION:** Sen. Jones moved to approve the minutes of January 9, 2007, and January 12, 2007. The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Stowell absent at the time of the vote.

## 1. S.B. 232 Military Installation Development Authority

Sen. Killpack proposed a substitute bill.

**MOTION:** Sen. Killpack moved to delete in title and body, S.B. 232, Military Installation Development Authority, and replace it with 1st Sub. S.B. 232, Military Installation Development Authority.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen Stowell absent at the time of the vote.

Sen. Killpack presented the substitute bill. Rick Mayfield, Executive Director, Utah Defense Alliance, helped with the presentation and spoke in support. Alan Hansen, Chairman, Davis County Commission, also spoke in support.

**MOTION:** Sen. Stowell moved to pass 1st Sub. S.B. 232, Military Installation Development Authority, out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

Minutes of the Workforce Services & Community & Economic Development Committee January 18, 2005 Page 2

The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. Killpack moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Madsen adjourned the meeting at 9:55 a.m.

Minutes were reported by Norda Shepard, Secretary.

Sen. Mark Madsen, Committee Chair