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H.B.  22
TRAFFIC CODE REVISIONS

HOUSE   FLOOR   AMENDMENTS AMENDMENT 2          JANUARY 15, 2007      4:29 PM

Representative James A. Dunnigan proposes the following amendments:

1. Page 1, Lines 1 through 2:

1  TRAFFIC  MOTOR VEHICLES  CODE REVISIONS{ }

2 2007 GENERAL SESSION 

2. Page 1, Lines 9 through 14:

9 This bill modifies the Motor Vehicles Code by amending certain provisions for motor

10 vehicle accidents  and motor vehicle owner's or operator's security .

11 Highlighted Provisions:

12 This bill:

13 < modifies motor vehicle accident provisions by moving provisions for accidents

14 resulting in fatalities or injuries into new sections of the Utah Code;  and { }

 <   permits a court to waive a portion of a fine for not maintaining owner's and operator's security

in certain instances; and  

3. Page 1, Lines 22 through 23:

22 41-6a-401, as renumbered and amended by Chapter 2 and last amended by Chapter 26,

23 Laws of Utah 2005

 41-12a-302, as last amended by Chapter 35, Laws of Utah 1998  

4. Page 5, Line 150 through Page 6, Line 152:

150 (6)  A person who violates Subsection (4) is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.

151 Section 5.  Section 41-12a-302 is amended to read:

41-12a-302.   Operating motor vehicle without owner's or operator's security -- Penalty.

(1)   Any  (a)  Except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), an  owner of a motor vehicle on{ }

which owner's or operator's security is required under Section 41-12a-301, who operates  his  the{ }

owner's  vehicle or permits it to be operated on a highway in this state without owner's security being in effect

is guilty of a class B misdemeanor, and the fine shall be not less than:

 (a)  (i)   $400 for a first offense; and{ }

 (b)  (ii)   $1,000 for a second and subsequent offense within three years of a previous{ }

conviction or bail forfeiture.
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 (b)  A court may waive up to $300 of the fine charged to the owner of a motor vehicle under

Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the owner demonstrates that owner's or operator's security required under Section

41-12a-301 was obtained subsequent to the violation. 

(2) (a)  Except as provided under Subsection (2)(b), any other person who operates a motor vehicle upon

a highway in Utah with the knowledge that the owner does not have owner's security in effect for the motor

vehicle is also guilty of a class B misdemeanor, and the fine shall be not less than:

(i)  $400 for a first offense; and

(ii)  $1,000 for a second and subsequent offense within three years of a previous conviction or bail

forfeiture.

(b)  A person that has in effect owner's security on a Utah-registered motor vehicle or its equivalent that

covers the operation, by the person, of the motor vehicle in question is exempt from this Subsection (2).

Section  5  6 .  Section 53-3-414 is amended to read:{ }

152 53-3-414.   CDL disqualification or suspension -- Grounds and duration -- 

Renumber remaining sections accordingly.


