S.B. 221 JUDICIAL RETENTION ELECTION TASK FORCE

senate floor Amendments	AMENDMENT 1	February 15, 2007	9:07 AM
SERVICE TEOOR TRUEROBILITIS		1 LDROM 15, 2007	7.07 I III

Senator Lyle W. Hillyard proposes the following amendments:

1. Page 1, Line 12 through Page 2, Line 42:

12	This bill:		
13	 designates three members of the Senate, appointed by the president of the Senate; 		
14	 designates five members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the speaker 		
15	of the House; and		
16			
17	Appeals, and one member of the District Court, appointed jointly by the president of		
18	the Senate and speaker of the House } <u>designates four judges appointed by the Utah Judicial</u>		
	<u>Council</u> .		
	*** Some lines not shown ***		
31	(1) There is created the Judicial Retention Election Task Force consisting of the		
32	following {11} members:		
33	(a) three members of the Senate appointed by the president of the Senate, no more than		
34	two of whom may be from the same political party;		
35	(b) five members of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker of the		
36	House of Representatives, no more than three of whom may be from the same political party;		
37	(c) {-one member of the Utah Supreme Court, appointed jointly by the president of the		
38	Senate and speaker of the House of Representatives;		
39	(d) one member of the Utah Court of Appeals, appointed jointly by the president of the		
40	Senate and speaker of the House of Representatives; and		
41	(e) one district court judge, appointed jointly by the president of the Senate and speaker		
12	of the House of Popresentatives by four judges each from a different court appointed by the U		

42 <u>of the House of Representatives.</u>} <u>four judges, each from a different court, appointed by the Utah</u> <u>Judicial Council.</u>