MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION & PUBLIC UTILITIES & TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 22, 2008, 8:00 A.M. ROOM W020, WEST OFFICE BUILDING STATE CAPITOL COMPLEX

Members Present: Sen. Carlene Walker, Chair

Sen. Kevin VanTassel Sen. Karen Mayne

Members Excused: Sen. Mike Dmitrich

Sen. Sheldon Killpack Sen. Scott Jenkins

Staff Present: Leif Elder, Policy Analyst

Nedra Duzett, Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Mark Forbes, Dept. Director, Utah State Parks and Recreation

Wayne Jones, Exec. Director, Utah Powersport Dealers

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Committee Chair Walker called the meeting to order at 8:10 a.m.

Approval of Minutes

MOTION: Sen. VanTassell moved to approve the minutes of February 18, 2008.

The motion passed unanimously.

1. H.B. 341 Damage to Underground Utility Facilities Amendments (D. Clark)

Rep. Clark explained the bill.

MOTION: Sen. VanTassell moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously.

2. H.B. 151 Motor Vehicle (S. Urquhart)

Rep. Urguhart explained the bill and answered questions from the Committee.

MOTION: Sen. VanTassell moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously.

Minutes of the Senate Transportation & Public Utilities & Technology Standing Committee February 22, 2008 Page 2

3. H.B. 362 Motor Fuel Tax - Off-highway Vehicle Refund Amendments (B. Ferry)

Sen. VanTassell introduced the bill.

Mark Forbes, Dept. Director, Utah State Parks and Recreation, distributed a handout, and gave further explanation of the bill.

Wayne Jones, Exec. Director, Utah Powersports, spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. VanTassell moved to pass the bill out favorably.

The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. VanTassell moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously.

Sen Walker adjourned the meeting at 8:30 a.m.

Minutes recorded by Nedra Duzett, Secretary

Sen. Carlene Walker, Committee Chair