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7th Sub. S.B.  93

LICENSED DIRECT ENTRY MIDWIFE AMENDMENTS

HOUSE   FLOOR   AMENDMENTS AMENDMENT 2          MARCH 5, 2008     10:28 PM

Representative Sheryl L. Allen proposes the following amendments:

1. Page 6, Lines 150 and 151: Delete "recommended" and insert "selected" and delete line 151

2. Page 6, Lines 155 through 177: Delete lines 155 through 177 and replace with the following:

"(3) (a)  The division shall submit the following to the advisory

committee:

(i)  administrative rules adopted by the division prior to March 1,

2008 under the provisions of Section 58-77-601; and

(ii)  any administrative rule proposed by the division after March

1, 2008 under the provisions of Section 58-77-601.

(b)  If the division does not incorporate a recommendation of the

advisory committee into an administrative rule, the division shall

provide a written report to the Legislative Administrative Rules

Review Committee which explains why the division did not adopt

a recommendation of the advisory committee.

(4)  The division shall adopt administrative rules regarding

conditions that require:

(a)  mandatory consultation with a physician licensed under

Chapter 67, Utah Medical Practice Act, or Chapter 68, Utah

Osteopathic Medical Practice Act, upon:

(i)  miscarriage after 14 weeks;

(ii)  failure to deliver by 42 completed weeks of gestation;

(iii)  a baby in the breech position after 36 weeks gestation;

(iv)  any sign or symptom of:

(A)  placenta previa; or

(B)  deep vein thrombosis or pulmonary embolus; or

(v)  any other condition or symptom that may place the health of

the pregnant woman or unborn child at unreasonable risk as

determined by the division by rule;

(b)  mandatory transfer of patient care before the onset of labor to

a physician licensed under Chapter 67, Utah Medical Practice Act,

or Chapter 68, Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act, upon
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evidence of:

(i)  placenta previa after 27 weeks;

(ii)  diagnosed deep vein thrombosis or pulmonary embolism;

(iii)  multiple gestation;

(iv)  no onset of labor after 43 completed weeks of gestation;

(v)  more than two prior c-sections, unless restricted by the

division by rule;

(vi)  prior c-section with a known classical or inverted-T or J

incision;

(vii)  prior c-section without an ultrasound that rules out placental

implantation over the uterine scar;

(viii)  prior c-section without a signed informed consent document

detailing the risks of vaginal birth after caesarean;

(ix)  prior c-section with a gestation greater than 42 weeks;

(x)  Rh isoimmunization with an antibody titre of greater than 1:8

in a mother carrying an Rh positive baby or a baby of unknown Rh

type;

 (xi)  any other condition that could place the life or long-term

health of the pregnant woman or unborn child at risk;

(c)  mandatory transfer of care during labor and an immediate

transfer in the manner specifically set forth in Subsections

58-77-601(4)(a), (b), or (c) upon evidence of:

(i)  undiagnosed multiple gestation, unless delivery is imminent;

(ii)  prior c-section with cervical dilation progress in the current

labor of less than 1 cm in three hours once labor is active;

(iii)  fetus in breech presentation during labor unless delivery is

imminent;

(iv)  inappropriate fetal presentation as determined by the licensed

Direct-entry Midwife;

(v)  non-reassuring fetal heart pattern indicative of fetal distress

that does not immediately respond to treatment by the Direct-entry

midwife unless delivery is imminent;

(vi)  moderate thick, or particulate meconium in the amniotic fluid

unless delivery is imminent;

(vii)  failure to deliver after three hours of pushing unless delivery

is imminent; or

(viii)  any other condition that could place the life or long-term

health of the pregnant woman or unborn child at significant risk if

not acted upon immediately; and
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(d)  mandatory transfer of care after delivery and immediate

transfer of the mother or infant in the manner specifically set forth

in Subsections 58-77-601 (4)(a), (b), or (c) upon evidence of  any

condition that could place the life or long-term health of the

mother or infant at significant risk if not acted upon immediately."

Renumber remaining subsections accordingly.

3. Page 7, Line 182: Delete "to serve as chair of the committee" and insert "and one of

the non-Direct-entry midwife members to serve as co-chairs of the

committee."

4. Page 7, Line 188: After "members" delete "present at a meeting"

5. Page 8, Lines 220 through 227: Amend the following subsections as shown:

"(a)  (i)   limit the licensed Direct-entry midwife's practice to a

normal pregnancy, labor, postpartum, newborn and

interconceptual care, which for purposes of this section means a

normal labor:

 (i)  (A)   that is not pharmacologically induced;{ }

 (ii)  (B)   that is low risk at the start of labor;{ }

 (iii)  (C)   that remains low risk through out the course of{ }

labor and delivery;  and { }

 (iv)  (D)   in which the infant is born spontaneously in{ }

the vertex position between 37 and 43 completed weeks of

pregnancy; and  

(E) except as provided in Subsection (2)(a)(ii), in which after 

delivery, the mother and infant remain low risk; and  

 (ii)  the limitation of Subsection (2)(a)(i) does not prohibit a

licensed Direct-entry midwife from delivering an infant when

there is:

(A)  intrauterine fetal demise; or

(B)  a fetal anomaly incompatible with life; and "


