MINUTES OF THE HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE

Room 445 - State Capitol, State Capitol Complex

February 19, 2009

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Todd Kiser, Chair

Rep. Gage Froerer, Vice Chair

Rep. Tim M. Cosgrove Rep. John Dougall Rep. Susan Duckworth

Rep. Julie Fisher Rep. Wayne Harper Rep. Christine Johnson Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold Rep. Stephen Sandstrom Rep. Jennifer Seelig

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rep. Sheryl Allen

Rep. Greg Hughes Rep. Eric Hutchings

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss

MEMBERS EXCUSED Rep. Evan Vickers

STAFF PRESENT: Bryant Howe, Assistant Director

Rosemary Young, Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Froerer called the meeting to order at 8:37 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Harper moved to approve the minutes of the February 17,2009 meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Johnson and Rep. Seelig absent for the vote.

H.B. 184 Income Tax Credit for a Disabled Dependent (Rep. J. Dougall)

Rep. Dougall introduced the bill and explained it to the committee assisted by Kris Fawson, Legislative Coalition for People with Disabilities. Royce Van Tassell, Utah Taxpayers Association, spoke against the bill. Rep. Duckworth declared a conflict of interest.

MOTION: Rep. Cosgrove moved to transmit H.B. 184 with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed with Rep. Harper and Rep. Sandstrom voting in opposition.

House Revenue and Taxation Standing Committee February 19, 2009 Page 2

S.B. 108 Tax Commission Administration, Collection, and Enforcement Amendments (Sen. W. Niederhauser) (Rep. T. Kiser)

Sen. Niederhauser introduced the bill and explained it to the committee.

MOTION: Rep. Johnson moved to transmit the bill with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Rep. Johnson moved that S.B. 108 be placed on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Dougall absent for the vote.

MOTION: Rep. Fisher moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Dougall absent for the vote.

Rep. Froerer adjourned the meeting at 9:15 a.m.

Rep. Todd E. Kiser, Chair