MINUTES OF THE SENATE BUSINESS & LABOR STANDING COMMITTEE THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 19, 2009 ROOM 215, SENATE BUILDING STATE CAPITOL COMPLEX

Members Present: Sen. John Valentine, Chair

Sen. Dan Liljenquist Sen. Karen Mayne Sen. Steve Urquhart Sen.Kevin VanTassell

Members Absent: Sen. Gene Davis

Sen. Wayne Niederhauser

Staff Present: Phil Dean, Policy Analyst

Nicholle Heidrich, Committee Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Brett A. Andersen, Attorney for Nonprofit Organizations

Kathy Berg, Division Director Department of Commerce

Wayne Jones, Executive Director of Utah Powersport Association

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Valentine called the meeting to order at 8:40 a.m.

Approval of Minutes

MOTION: Sen. Van Tassell moved that the minutes of February 10th and February 12th be approved.

The motion passed unanimously.

1. SB192 Corporation Related Amendments

MOTION: Sen. Liljenquist moved to substitute SB192 with a 1st substitute SB192.

The motion passed unanimously.

Rep. Hillyard introduced and explained 1st substitute SB192.

Brent Andersen and Kathy Berg spoke in favor of 1st substitute SB192.

MOTION: Sen. Van Tassell moved to pass 1st substitute SB192 out of committee with a

Minutes of the Senate Business and Labor Standing Committee February 19, 2009 Page 2

favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: At the sponsor's request Sen. Van Tassell moved to put 1st substitute SB192 on the consent calendar.

The motion passed unanimously

2. <u>HB119 Powersport Vehicle Franchise Act Revisions</u>

Rep. Gowans introduced and explained the bill.

Wayne Jones spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Van Tassell moved to pass HB119 out of committee with a favorable motion.

The motion passed unanimously.

HB271 was not considered.

MOTION: Sen. Van Tassell moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Valentine adjourned the meeting at 9:12 a.m.

Minutes were reported by Nicholle Heidrich, Committee Secretary.

Sen. John Valentine, Committee Chair