MINUTES OF THE SENATE HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES STANDING COMMITTEE MONDAY, MARCH 4, 2009 ROOM 250 STATE CAPITOL

Members Present: Sen. D. Chris Buttars, Chair

Sen. Allen M. Christensen Sen. David P. Hinkins Sen. Patricia W. Jones

Sen. Luz Robles

Members Excused: Sen. Gregory S. Bell

Staff Present: Mark D. Andrews, Policy Analyst

Cami Deavila, Committee Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Stan Rasmussen, Public Affairs, Sutherland Institute

Wade Farraway, Office of the Utah Attorney General

Tom Bingham, President, Utah Manufacturers Association

Barbara Szweda, Policy Advisor, American Civil Liberties Union

Ron Mortensen, Citizen Coalition on Illegal Immigration

Alan Dayton, Intermountain Healthcare

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Sen. Buttars called the meeting to order at 8:06 a.m.

Approval of Minutes

MOTION: Sen. Christensen moved to approve minutes from the March 2, 2009 meeting.

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Hinkins absent for the vote.

1. <u>HB0399, Charitable Care Amendments</u> (B. Last)

Rep. Last introduced the bill.

Mr. Dayton spoke for the bill. Mr. Rasmussen spoke to the bill.

Sen. Jones declared a conflict of interest.

MOTION: Sen. Christensen moved to pass H.B. 399, Charitable Care Amendments, out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

Minutes of the Senate Health and Human Services Standing Committee March 4, 2008 Page 2

The motion passed unanimously with Sen. Hinkins absent for the vote.

2. <u>HB0064S01, Deterring Illegal Immigration</u> (B. Dee)

Sen. Christensen introduced the bill.

Mr. Farraway, Mr. Bingham and Mr. Mortensen spoke for the bill. Ms. Szweda spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Christensen moved to pass 1st Sub H.B. 64, Deterring Illegal Immigration, out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. Jones moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously.

Sen. Buttars adjourned the meeting at 8:45 a.m.

Minutes were reported by Cami Deavila, Secretary.

D. Chris Buttars, Committee Chair