Corrected 03/25/2009

MINUTES OF THE SENATE RETIREMENT AND INDEPENDENT ENTITIES STANDING COMMITTEE THURSDAY, MARCH 5, 2009, 7:30 A.M. ROOM 20, HOUSE BUILDING

Members Present:	Sen. Dan Liljinquist, Co-Chair Sen. Curtis Bramble Sen. John Greiner Sen. Chris Buttars
Member Excused:	Sen. Brent Goodfellow
Members Absent:	Sen. Gene Davis
Staff Present:	Benjamin N. Christensen, Policy Analyst Nicholle Heidrich, Committee Secretary
Public Speakers Present:	Amanda Smith, Governor's Office Rob Adams, Beaver County Lynn Stevens, San Juan County Vice President David Smith, Utah Valley University Dan Anderson, Utah Retirement Systems Greg Smith, BYU Student

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Committee Chair Liljenquist called the meeting to order at 8:04 a.m.

MOTION: Sen. Buttars moved to approve the minutes for March 3, 2009.

The motion passed unanimously.

1. SB0076 Energy Amendments

MOTION: Sen. Bramble moved to replace S.B. 76 with 3rd Substitute S.B. 76.

The motion passed unanimously.

Sen. Bramble introduced and explained 3rd Substitute S.B. 76.

Amanda Smith, Rob Adams and Lynn Stevens spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Bramble moved to pass 3rd Substitute S.B. 76 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

Senate Retirement and Independent Entities Standing Committee March 5, 2009 Page 2

The motion passed unanimously.

2. HB0211S01 Retirement Investment Reports

Rep. Julie Fisher introduced and explained 1st Substitute H.B. 211. David Smith, Dan Anderson and Greg Smith Spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Bramble moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 211 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. Bramble moved to place 1st Substitute H.B. 211 on the Consent Calendar.

The motion passed unanimously.

MOTION: Sen. Greiner moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously.

Committee Chair Liljenquist adjourned the meeting at 8:36 a.m.

Minutes reported by Nicholle Heidrich, Secretary.

Sen. Dan Liljenquist, Committee Chair