H.B. 140

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEE AMENDMENTS

Representative **Sheryl L. Allen** proposes the following amendments:

AMENDMENT 5 FEBRUARY 19, 2009 10:57 AM

1. Page 1, Line 13

HOUSE FLOOR AMENDMENTS

House Committee Amendments

2-11-2009:

2. Page 1, Line 15

House Committee Amendments

2-11-2009:

- 15 Public Safety Restricted Account;
 - <u>▶ provides that until June 30, 2012, the Tax Commission shall retain certain fees to be used to</u> administer the motor vehicle laws;
- 3. Page 1, Line 19

House Committee Amendments

2-11-2009:

- 19 highways within this state; {-and-}
- 4. Page 2, Line 29:
 - 29 53-3-106, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2008, Chapters 304 and 382
 - 72-2-103, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2002, Fifth Special Session, Chapter 13
- 5. Page 3, Lines 65 through 66

House Committee Amendments

2-11-2009:

- 65 (7) $\hat{H} \rightarrow [\overline{\text{Two}}] \text{ Until June } 30,2012 \left\{ \begin{array}{c} \\ \\ \end{array} \right\}$
 - (a) \$2 ←Ĥ {-dollars-} of the registration fees imposed under
- 65a Section 41-1a-1206 for each
- vehicle shall be deposited in the Public Safety Restricted Account created in Section 53-3-106; and

(b) \$1 of each registration fee collected under Section 41-1a-1206 shall be retained by the commission as a nonlapsing dedicated credit to be used toward the costs of administering this title

```
6. Page 3, Line 72
     House Committee Amendments
     2-11-2009:
                                                                                         $25.50 for each motorcycle; \hat{H} → and
     72
                   (a) [\$22.50] \hat{H} \rightarrow (i) until June 30, 2012, \leftarrow \hat{H} \{\$24.50\}
7. Page 3, Lines 73 through 74
     House Committee Amendments
     2-11-2009:
     73
                   (b) \begin{bmatrix} \$21 \end{bmatrix} \hat{H} \rightarrow (i) until June 30, 2012, \leftarrow \hat{H} \begin{bmatrix} \$23 \end{bmatrix} for each motor vehicle of 12,000 pounds
           or
           less gross laden weight,
   73a
     74
           excluding motorcycles; \hat{H} \rightarrow and
8. Page 3, Lines 77 through 77a
     House Committee Amendments
     2-11-2009:
     77
                   (i) [\$11] \hat{H} \rightarrow (A) until June 30, 2012, \leftarrow \hat{H} \{\$13\} for each trailer or semitrailer over 750
           pounds gross unladen weight; Ĥ→ and
   77a
   Page 3a, Lines 78 through 79:
                   (ii) [$8.50] \hat{H} \rightarrow (A) until June 30, 2012, \leftarrow \hat{H} {$10.50}
     78
                                                                                         $11.50 for each commercial trailer or
            commercial semitrailer of 790 pounds or less gross unladen weight; \hat{H} \rightarrow and
   78a
10. Page 3a, Lines 80 through 81
     House Committee Amendments
     2-11-2009:
     80
                   (d) (i) \begin{bmatrix} \$33 \end{bmatrix} \hat{H} \rightarrow (A) until June 30, 2012, \leftarrow \hat{H} \{\$35\} for each farm truck over 12,000
   80a
           pounds, but not exceeding 14,000
           pounds gross laden weight; Ĥ→ and
     81
11. Page 3a, Lines 83 through 85
     House Committee Amendments
     2-11-2009:
                   (e) (i) [$49.50] \hat{H} \rightarrow (A) until June 30, 2012, \leftarrow \hat{H} {$51.50}
     83
                                                                                             $52.50 for each motor vehicle or
```

- 83a combination of motor vehicles.
- 84 excluding farm trucks, over 12,000 pounds, but not exceeding 14,000 pounds gross laden
- 85 weight; $\hat{H} \rightarrow \underline{\text{and}}$
- 12. Page 3a, Lines 87 through 87a

House Committee Amendments

2-11-2009:

87 (2) (a) $\hat{H} \rightarrow [The]$ (i) Until June 30, 2012, the $\leftarrow \hat{H}$ initial registration fee for a vintage

87a vehicle is [\$20] $\{\$22\}$ \$23.

13. Page 4, Line 101a

House Committee Amendments

2-11-2009:

101a (a) until June 30, 2012, $\leftarrow \hat{H}$ [\$\frac{\\$110}{\}] \{\\$113} \hat{H} \rightarrow ; and

14. Page 5, Lines 135 through 137

House Committee Amendments

2-11-2009:

- 135 (7) All monies received under Subsection 41-1a-1201(7) (a) shall be appropriated by the
- Legislature from this account to the department to pay a portion of the costs to employ highway
- patrol $\hat{H} \rightarrow [\underline{\text{officers}}]$ troopers $\leftarrow \hat{H}$ to police or patrol the highways within this state.
- 15. Page 5, Line 138

House Committee Amendments

2-11-2009:

- 138 [(7)] (8) Appropriations to the department from the account are nonlapsing.
 - Section 4. Section 72-2-103 is amended to read:

72-2-103. Limitations on Transportation Fund appropriations to agencies not a part of the Department of Transportation -- Exceptions.

- (1) Except as provided under Subsection (2), the amount appropriated or transferred from the Transportation Fund each year may not exceed a combined total of \$11,600,000 to:
 - (a) the Department of Public Safety;
 - (b) the State Tax Commission;
 - (c) the Division of Finance; and
 - (d) any other state agency that is not a part of the Department of Transportation.
 - (2) The following amounts are exempt from the appropriation and transfer limitations of Subsection (1):
- (a) amounts deposited in the Department of Public Safety Restricted Account created under Section 53-3-106;

- (b) revenue generated by the uninsured motorist identification fee under Section 41-1a-1218;
- (c) revenue generated by the motor carrier fee under Section 41-1a-1219 or Section 72-9-706; {-and-}
- (d) revenue generated by the Motorcycle Rider Education Program under Section 53-3-905 $\{ \overline{\cdot} \}$ and
- (e) amounts retained by the Tax Commission as a nonlapsing dedicated credit under Section 41-1a-1201(7)(b).

Renumber remaining sections accordingly.