Enrolled Copy	H.J.R. 13

RECOGNITION OF COMMUNITY COUNCILS
AND THE ASSOCIATION OF COMMUNITY
COUNCILS TOGETHER JOINT RESOLUTION
2010 GENERAL SESSION
STATE OF UTAH
Chief Sponsor: Susan Duckworth
Senate Sponsor: Michael G. Waddoups
LONG TITLE
General Description:
This joint resolution of the Legislature recognizes the 25th Anniversary of the
Community Councils of Unincorporated Salt Lake County and expresses thanks and
support for their work as partners with Salt Lake County government to provide advice
and input on behalf of its residents for the betterment of their communities.
Highlighted Provisions:
This resolution:
<ul> <li>recognizes the 25th Anniversary of the adoption of Salt Lake County Ordinance</li> </ul>
Chapter 2.56, Community Districts and Community Councils, which established
the relationship between the community councils of the unincorporated
communities of Salt Lake County and their valley-wide organization, the
Association of Community Councils Together (ACCT); and
<ul> <li>recognizes the service, work, and achievements the community councils and the</li> </ul>
ACCT have performed in providing a voice for the benefit of the residents of
unincorporated Salt Lake County.
Special Clauses:
None

WHEREAS, in 1985, the Salt Lake County Commission adopted the ordinance that

29

H.J.R. 13 Enrolled Copy

30	created Chapter 2.56, Community Districts and Community Councils, in the Salt Lake County
31	Code of Ordinances;
32	WHEREAS, this ordinance recognized the United Association of Community
33	Councils, later renamed the Association of Community Councils Together (ACCT), an
34	association in which all the community councils could come together to work on issues of
35	mutual concern;
36	WHEREAS, over the last 25 years, the community councils and ACCT have been the
37	driving force for a large number of community projects, events, and services for the residents
38	within unincorporated Salt Lake County;
39	WHEREAS, the community councils and ACCT serve as volunteers in their
40	communities, donating countless hours of work on behalf of the residents of unincorporated
41	Salt Lake County;
42	WHEREAS, community councils and ACCT have generated millions of dollars in
43	savings to the taxpayers of unincorporated Salt Lake County by helping county government
44	improve on its response and delivery of municipal services to its unincorporated communities;
45	WHEREAS, the assistance provided by community councils and ACCT has made Salt
46	Lake County the standard by which all other municipal-type service providers in Salt Lake
47	County are judged; and
48	WHEREAS, in this time of falling revenues and increased costs for service delivery,
49	the community councils' and ACCT's model of coordinated governance within Salt Lake
50	County provides all levels of government in the state of Utah with a framework to reduce costs
51	and improve service delivery:
52	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of the state of Utah
53	recognizes the community councils of unincorporated Salt Lake County, the Association of
54	Community Councils Together (ACCT), and Salt Lake County on the 25th Anniversary of the
55	establishment of their working relationship for the betterment of the quality of services and
56	quality of life of the citizens of unincorporated Salt Lake County.
57	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature of the state of Utah expresses

Enrolled Copy H.J.R. 13

58	thanks to the past and present members of the community councils and ACCT for their
59	personal sacrifices and contributions on behalf of the residents of the communities they serve.
60	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be sent to the Salt Lake
61	County Mayor, the Salt Lake County Council, the Association of Community Councils
62	Together (ACCT), the Big Cottonwood Canyon Community Council, the Canyon Rim
63	Community Council, the Copperton Community Council, the East Mill Creek Community
64	Council, the Emigration Canyon Community Council, the Granite Community Council, the
65	Kearns Community Council, the Millcreek Community Council, the Mount Olympus
66	Community Council, the Parley's Canyon Community Council, the Sandy Hills Community
67	Council, the White City Township Community Council, the Willow Canyon Community
68	Council, and the Magna Town Council.