MINUTES OF THE

HOUSE JUDICIARY STANDING COMMITTEE MEETING

Room W020 - House Building, State Capitol Complex February 4, 2010

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Lorie D. Fowlke, Chair

Rep. Jim Bird, Vice Chair Rep. Sheryl L. Allen Rep. Jackie Biskupski Rep. Francis Gibson Rep. Eric K. Hutchings Rep. Christine A. Johnson

Rep. Brian King Rep. Kay L. McIff Rep. Kraig Powell

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rep. Keith Grover

Rep. Mark A. Wheatley

STAFF PRESENT: Jerry D. Howe, Policy Analyst

Kathy Sorg, Committee Secretary

NOTE: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Fowlke called the meeting to order at 8:10 a.m.

MOTION: Representative Gibson moved to approve the minutes of the February 2, 2010

meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Johnson absent for the vote.

H.B. 112 Supreme Court Review of an Initiative or Referendum (Rep. B. Dee)

Rep. Dee explained the bill to the committee.

Explained the bill: John Fellows, General Counsel, Office of Legislative Research.

MOTION: Rep. Hutchings moved to pass H.B. 112 with a favorable recommendation. The

motion passed unanimously with Rep. Johnson absent for the vote.

Rep. Fowlke relinquished the chair to Rep. Bird.

H.B. 224 Uniform Real Property Transfer on Death Act (Rep. L. Fowlke)

Rep. Fowlke explained the bill to the committee.

House Judiciary Standing Committee February 4, 2010 Page 2

Spoke against the bill: Cort Ashton, Utah Land Title Association.

Ernest Rowley, Vice President, Utah Association of County

Recorders/Weber County Recorder

MOTION: Rep. King moved to pass H.B. 224 with a favorable recommendation. The

motion failed with Rep. Allen, Rep. Gibson, Rep. King, Rep. Bird and Rep. Fowlke voting in favor of the motion. Rep. Biskupski, Rep. Hutchings, Rep. Johnson, Rep. McIff and Rep. Powell voted in opposition to the motion.

The motion to pass H.B. 224 with a favorable recommendation failed on a tie vote.

MOTION: Representative Fowlke moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed

unanimously.

Rep. Bird adjourned the meeting at 9:14 a.m.

Rep. Lorie Fowlke, Chair