MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION STANDING COMMITTEE THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 18, 2010 ROOM 415, STATE CAPITOL

Members Present: Sen. Curtis Bramble, Chair

Sen. Margaret Dayton Sen. Brent Goodfellow Sen. Lyle Hillyard Sen. Scott Jenkins Sen. Karen Morgan

Sen. Howard A. Stephenson

Staff Present: Allison Nicholson, Policy Analyst

Karen C. Allred, Secretary

Public Speakers Present: Gerald R. Sherratt, Former Mayor, Cedar City

Christine Kearl, Education Director, Office of the Governor Jason Mathis, Executive Director, Salt Lake Downtown Alliance Royce Van Tassell, Vice President, Utah Taxpayers Association Janet Roberts, Business Administrator, Salt Lake City School

District

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Committee Chair Bramble called the meeting to order at 8:15 A.M.

MOTION: Sen. Jenkins moved to approve the minutes of the February 16, 2010 meeting.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Dayton, Goodfellow, and Hillyard absent for the vote.

1. S.B. 52 -- Sate Board of Regents Amendments

MOTION: Sen. Jenkins moved to replace S.B. 52 with 1st Sub. S.B. 52.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Dayton, Goodfellow, and Hillyard absent for the vote.

Sen. Stowell introduced and explained the bill.

Gerald R. Sherratt, Former Mayor, Cedar City; and Christine Kearl, Education Director, Office of the Governor; spoke in favor of the bill.

Minutes of the Senate Education Standing Committee February 18, 2010 Page 2

MOTION: Sen. Dayton moved to pass 1st Sub. S.B. 52 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed with Sens. Bramble, Dayton, Goodfellow, Jenkins, Morgan, and Stephenson voting in favor, and Sen. Hillyard voting in opposition.

2. S.B. 175 -- School District Capital Outlay Equalization Amendments

Sen. McAdams introduced and explained the bill.

Sen. Dayton assumed the chair.

Jason Mathis, Executive Director, Salt Lake Downtown Alliance; and Janet Roberts, Business Administrator, Salt Lake City School District; spoke in favor of the bill.

Royce Van Tassell, Vice President, Utah Taxpayers Association, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Sen. Goodfellow moved to pass S.B. 175 out of committee with a favorable recommendation.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Bramble and Hillyard absent for the vote.

MOTION: Sen. Goodfellow moved to adjourn.

The motion passed unanimously with Sens. Bramble and Hillyard absent for the vote.

Acting Chair Dayton adjourned the meeting at 9:15 A.M.

Minutes were reported by Karen C. Allred, Secretary.

