MINUTES OF THE HOUSE POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS STANDING COMMITTEE Room 450 Utah State Capitol January 31, 2011

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Rep. R. Curt Webb, Chair Rep. Rebecca P. Edwards, Vice Chair Rep. Johnny Anderson Rep. Jack R. Draxler Rep. James A. Dunnigan Rep. Jeremy A. Peterson Rep. Dixon M.Pitcher Rep. Marie H. Poulson Rep. Stephen E. Sandstrom Rep. Jennifer M. Seelig Rep. Larry B.Wiley
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Rep. Michael T. Morley

STAFF PRESENT:	Joseph Wade, Policy Analyst
	Karen Mitchell, Committee Secretary

Note: A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Rep. Edwards called the meeting to order at 4:07 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Wiley moved to approve the minutes of January 27, 2011. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Anderson, Rep. Draxler, Rep. Morley, Rep. Sandstrom, and Rep. Seelig absent for the vote.

S.B. 14 Local Election Amendments (Sen. P. Knudson) (Rep. D. Sagers)

This bill was not considered.

H.B. 226 Local Government Fee Authority (*Rep. W. Harper*)

Rep. Harper introduced the bill to the committee.

MOTION: Rep. Dunnigan moved to adopt 1st Substitute H.B. 226. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Anderson, Rep. Draxler, Rep. Morley, Rep. Sandstrom, and Rep. Seelig absent for the vote. House Political Subdivisions Standing Committee January 31, 2011 Page 2

MOTION: Rep. Wiley moved to amend the substitute bill as follows:

- 1. Page 2, Lines 35 through 36:
 - 35 (5) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), on or after July 1, {2011 } 2012 , a service area
 - 36 may not charge or collect a fee under Section 17B-1-643 for:

SUBSTITUTE

MOTION: Rep. Dunnigan moved to amend the substitute bill as follows:

- 1. Page 2, Lines 35 through 36:
 - 35
 (5) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b), on or after { July } January

 1, { 2011 } 2012 , a service area
 - 36 <u>may not charge or collect a fee under Section 17B-1-643 for:</u>

The substitute motion passed with Rep. Wiley voting in opposition. Rep. Anderson, Rep. Draxler, Rep. Morley, and Rep. Sandstrom were absent for the vote.

Spoke in favor of the bill:	Jim Winder, Sheriff Unified Police Department
	Royce VanTassell, Utah Taxpayers Association

Spoke to the bill: Michael Jensen, Salt Lake County Commission

MOTION: Rep. Dunnigan moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 226, as amended, with a favorable recommendation. The motion passed with Rep. Wiley voting in opposition. Rep. Draxler, Rep. Morley, Rep. Sandstrom, and Rep. Webb were absent for the vote.

H.B. 248 County Office Vacancies (*Rep. C. Wimmer*)

Rep. Wimmer introduced the bill to the committee.

MOTION: Rep. Wiley moved to amend the bill as follows:

- 1. Page 2, Lines 46 through 48:
 - 46 (ii) That [county central committee] party liaison shall, within 30 days, submit the
 - 47 [names of three nominees] <u>name of the person</u> <u>selected in accordance with the party</u> <u>constitution or bylaws as described in Section 20A-8-401</u> for the interim replacement to the county

House Political Subdivisions Standing Committee January 31, 2011 Page 3

- 48 legislative body.
- 2. Page 6, Lines 179 through 180:
 - 179 (e) a procedure for filling vacancies in the office of representative or senator <u>or a</u> <u>county office, as described in Section 20A-1-508</u>, because of
 - 180 death, resignation, or ineligibility;

The motion to amend the bill passed unanimously with Rep. Draxler, Rep. Dunnigan, Rep. Morley, Rep. Sandstrom, Rep. Seelig, and Rep. Webb absent for the vote.

Spoke in favor		a Shepherd, Utah County Republican Party omas Wright, Utah Republican Party
Spoke in oppo	sition to the bill:	Brent Gardner, Utah Association of Counties Carmen Samone, Citizen
Spoke to the b	ill: Gary Alder,	Citizen
MOTION:	recommendation.	oved to pass out H.B. 248, as amended, with a favorable The motion passed with Rep. Draxler, Rep. Pitcher, Rep. Poulson, oting in opposition. Rep. Dunnigan, Rep. Morley, and Rep. Seelig e vote.

MOTION: Rep. Wiley moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Rep. Dunnigan, Rep. Morley, and Rep. Seelig absent for the vote.

Rep. Edwards adjourned the meeting at 5:21 p.m.

Rep. Curt Webb, Chair