Enrolled Copy

STATE WATER DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION AMENDMENTS
2012 GENERAL SESSION
STATE OF UTAH
Chief Sponsor: Margaret Dayton
House Sponsor: Patrick Painter
LONG TITLE
General Description:
This bill changes the membership of the State Water Development Commission.
Highlighted Provisions:
This bill:
 increases the number of legislators serving on the State Water Development
Commission;
 designates non-legislative members of the commission as non-voting members;
 eliminates the requirement that legislative members on the commission represent
certain river districts; and
 makes technical changes.
Money Appropriated in this Bill:
None
Other Special Clauses:
None
Utah Code Sections Affected:
AMENDS:
73-27-102, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2009, Chapter 254
REPEALS:
73-27-104, as enacted by Laws of Utah 2000, Chapter 124
73-27-105, as enacted by Laws of Utah 2000, Chapter 124

29 Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:

S.B. 134

Enrolled Copy

30	Section 1. Section 73-27-102 is amended to read:
31	73-27-102. State Water Development Commission created.
32	(1) The [Joint Gubernatorial and Legislative] State Water Development Commission is
33	created to determine the state's role in the protection, conservation, and development of the
34	state's water resources.
35	(2) The commission membership shall include:
36	(a) [four] five members of the Senate, [of whom:] appointed by the president of the
37	Senate, no more than four of whom may be from the same political party;
38	[(i) no more than one shall represent the same river district; and]
39	[(ii) no more than two shall be from the same party, except the president of the Senate
40	may appoint up to three senators from the same party if the appointment is necessary to comply
41	with Subsection (2)(a)(i);]
42	(b) [six] eight members of the House of Representatives, [of whom no more than two
43	shall represent the same river district and no more than four shall] appointed by the speaker of
44	the House of Representatives, no more than six of whom may be from the same political party;
45	and
46	(c) the following non-voting members, appointed by the governor:
47	[(c)] (i) a representative of the Office of the Governor;
48	[(d)] (ii) a representative of the Green River District;
49	[(e)] (iii) a representative of the Upper Colorado River District;
50	[(f)] (iv) a representative of the Lower Colorado River District;
51	$\left[\frac{(y)}{(y)}\right]$ a representative of the Lower Sevier River District;
52	[(h)] (vi) a representative of the Upper Sevier River District;
53	[(i)] (vii) a representative of the Provo River District;
54	[(j)] (viii) a representative of the Salt Lake District;
55	[(k)] (ix) a representative of the Weber River District;
56	[(1)] (x) a representative of the Bear River District;
57	[(m)] (xi) the executive director of the Department of Natural Resources;

Enrolled Copy

58	[(n)] (xii) the executive director of the Department of Environmental Quality;
59	[(0)] (xiii) the commissioner of agriculture and food;
60	[(p)] (xiv) a member of the Board of Water Resources;
61	$\left[\frac{(q)}{(xv)}\right]$ a representative of an organized environmental group; and
62	[(r)] (xvi) a representative of agricultural production.
63	(3) The president of the Senate and the speaker of the House of Representatives shall,
64	to the extent possible, appoint members under Subsections (2)(a) and (b) that represent both
65	rural and urban areas of the state.
66	[(3) The president of the Senate and the speaker of the House shall appoint the
67	commission members from the Senate and the House, respectively. The governor shall appoint
68	the other commission members.]
69	[(4) The president of the Senate and the speaker of the House shall designate one
70	senator and one representative, respectively, as cochair.]
71	[(5) Attendance of a majority of the members at a meeting constitutes a quorum for the
72	transaction of the business of the commission.]
73	(4) (a) The president of the Senate shall designate a member of the Senate appointed
74	under Subsection (2)(a) as a cochair of the commission.
75	(b) The speaker of the House of Representatives shall designate a member of the House
76	of Representatives appointed under Subsection (2)(b) as a cochair of the commission.
77	(5) Attendance by at least 50% of one legislative house and more than 50% of the other
78	legislative house constitutes a quorum.
79	(6) (a) Salaries and expenses of the members of the commission shall be paid in
80	accordance with Section 36-2-2 and Legislative Joint Rules, Title 5, Chapter 3, Expense and
81	Mileage Reimbursement for Authorized Legislative Meetings, Special Sessions, and Veto
82	Override Sessions.
83	(b) Commission members who are employees of the state shall receive no additional
84	compensation.
85	(c) Other commission members shall receive no compensation or expenses for their

S.B. 134

86	service on the commission.
87	(7) The Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel shall provide staff support
88	to the commission.
89	Section 2. Repealer.
90	This bill repeals:
91	Section 73-27-104, Compensation and expenses of commission members.
92	Section 73-27-105, Staffing.