# MINUTES OF THE SENATE NATURAL RESOURCES, AGRICULTURE, AND ENVIRONMENT STANDING COMMITTEE

415 State Capitol, Utah State Capitol Complex February 15, 2012

Members Present: Sen, Ralph Okerlund, Chair

Sen. Casey Anderson Sen. Allen M. Christensen

Sen. Gene Davis

Member Absent: Sen. Margaret Dayton

Sen. David Hinkins

Staff Present: Mr. J Brian Allred, Policy Analyst

Ms. Wendy Hill, Secretary

A list of visitors and a copy of handouts are filed with the committee minutes.

Chair Okerlund called the meeting to order at 8:50 am.

## **Approval of Minutes**

**MOTION:** Sen. Christensen moved to approve the minutes of February 13, 2012. The

motion passed unanimously.

#### S.B. 86 Agriculture Protection Amendments (C. Bramble)

**MOTION:** Sen. Davis moved to replace S.B. 86 with 1st Sub. S.B. 86. The motion passed

unanimously.

## 1st Sub. S.B. 86 Agriculture Protection Amendments (C. Bramble)

Sen. Bramble introduced and explained the bill.

Spoke against the bill: Allen C. Christensen, Owner, Christensen Farms

Wayne A. Christensen, Owner, Christensen Farms

**MOTION:** Sen. Davis moved to pass 1st Sub. S.B. 86 out favorably. The motion passed

unanimously.

# S.B. 83 Uintah Basin Energy Zones (K. Van Tassell)

Sen. Van Tassell introduced and explained the bill.

**MOTION:** Sen. Christensen moved to amend the bill as follows.

Minutes of the Senate Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Environment Standing Committee February 15, 2012

Page 2

1. Page 13, Lines 373 through 374:

maintain the goals, purposes, and policies described in this section.

(7) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the state's grazing and livestock policies and plans on land within the Uintah Basin Energy Zone shall continue to be governed by Sections 63J-1-104, 63J-4-401, and 63J-8-104.

374 Section 4. Effective date.

The motion passed unanimously.

Mark Ward, Attorney, Utah Association of Counties Spoke for the bill:

Michael J. McKee, County Commissioner, Uintah County

**MOTION:** Sen. Davis moved to pass the bill out favorably. The motion passed unanimously.

**MOTION:** Sen. Christensen moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Okerlund adjourned the meeting at 9:40 am.

Minutes were reported by Wendy Hill, Secretary

Sen. Ralph Okerlund, Committee Chair