28	<b>9-1-802</b> , as last amended by Laws of Utah 1996, Chapter 242
29	9-1-803, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2010, Chapter 286
30	9-1-805, as enacted by Laws of Utah 1994, Chapter 119
31	9-1-806, as enacted by Laws of Utah 1994, Chapter 119
32	9-1-808, as enacted by Laws of Utah 1994, Chapter 119
33	9-1-809, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2009, Chapter 59
34	9-1-810, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2012, Chapter 212
35	REPEALS AND REENACTS:
36	9-1-811, as enacted by Laws of Utah 1994, Chapter 119
37	REPEALS:
38	<b>9-1-807</b> , as enacted by Laws of Utah 1994, Chapter 119
39	
40	Be it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
41	Section 1. Section <b>9-1-802</b> is amended to read:
42	9-1-802. Definitions.
43	(1) "Act" means the National Community and Service Trust Act of 1993, 42 U.S.C.
44	12501 et seq.
45	(2) "Commission" means the Utah Commission on [Volunteers] Service and
46	<u>Volunteerism</u> created in Section 9-1-803.
47	(3) "Corporation" means the Corporation for National and Community Service
48	described in the act.
49	Section 2. Section 9-1-803 is amended to read:
50	9-1-803. Creation Members Appointment Terms Vacancies Per diem
51	and expenses.
52	(1) There is created the Utah Commission on [Volunteers] Service and Volunteerism
53	consisting of [the following 25] $\hat{\mathbf{H}} \rightarrow [\underline{17}] \underline{19} \leftarrow \hat{\mathbf{H}}$ voting members[:] and one nonvoting member.
54	(2) The $\hat{\mathbf{H}} \rightarrow [\underline{\mathbf{H}}]$ 19 $\leftarrow \hat{\mathbf{H}}$ voting members of the commission are:
55	(a) the lieutenant governor;
56	$\hat{H} \rightarrow [f]$ (b) the commissioner of higher education or the commissioner's designee; $[f] \leftarrow \hat{H}$
57	$[(c)]$ $\hat{\mathbf{H}} \rightarrow [\underline{(b)}] \underline{\mathbf{c}} \leftarrow \hat{\mathbf{H}}$ the <u>state</u> superintendent of public instruction or the superintendent's
57a	designee;
58	$\hat{\mathbf{H}} \rightarrow [\underline{\mathbf{c}}] \underline{\mathbf{d}} \leftarrow \hat{\mathbf{H}}$ the executive director of the Department of Heritage and Arts or the
58a	<u>executive</u>

59	director's designee;
60	$\hat{\mathbf{H}} \rightarrow [(\mathbf{d})] \mathbf{e} \leftarrow \hat{\mathbf{H}}$ nine members appointed by the governor as follows:
61	(i) an individual with expertise in the educational, training, and developmental needs of
62	youth, particularly disadvantaged youth;
63	(ii) an individual with experience in promoting the involvement of older adults in
64	[service and volunteerism] volunteer service;
65	(iii) a representative of <u>a</u> community-based [agencies or community-based
66	organizations] agency or organization within the state;
67	(iv) a representative of [local governments in the state] local government;
68	(v) a representative of <u>a</u> local labor [organizations] organization in the state;
69	(vi) a representative of business;
70	(vii) an individual between the ages of 16 and 25 who [is a participant or supervisor]
71	participates in a volunteer or service program;
72	(viii) a representative of a national service program; and
73	(ix) a representative of the [corporation as a nonvoting, ex officio member] volunteer
74	sector; and
75	$\hat{\mathbf{H}} \rightarrow [(\mathbf{e})] \underline{\mathbf{f}} \leftarrow \hat{\mathbf{H}} [13] \hat{\mathbf{H}} \rightarrow [\underline{\mathbf{five}}] \underline{\mathbf{six}} \leftarrow \hat{\mathbf{H}}$ members appointed by the governor from
75a	among the following groups:
76	(i) local educators;
77	(ii) experts in the delivery of human, educational, cultural, environmental, or public
78	safety services to communities and individuals;
79	(iii) representatives of Native American tribes;
80	(iv) representatives of organizations that assist out-of-school youth or other at-risk
81	youth; [and] or
82	(v) representatives of entities that receive assistance under the Domestic Volunteer
83	Service Act of 1973, 42 U.S.C. 4950 et seq.
84	(3) The nonvoting member of the commission is the state representative of the
85	corporation.
86	$[\frac{(2)}{(4)}]$ (a) In appointing persons to serve on the commission, the governor shall
87	ensure that:
88	(i) no more than [13] $\hat{\mathbf{H}} \rightarrow [\underline{\mathbf{nine}}] \underline{10} \leftarrow \hat{\mathbf{H}} \underline{\mathbf{voting}}$ members of the commission are members
88a	of the same
89	political party; and

90	(ii) no more than $[six]$ $\hat{\mathbf{H}} \rightarrow [\underline{four}]$ $\underline{five} \leftarrow \hat{\mathbf{H}}$ voting members of the commission are state
90a	government
91	employees.
92	(b) In appointing persons to serve on the commission, the governor shall strive for
93	balance on the commission according to race, ethnicity, age, gender, and disability
94	characteristics.
95	$[\frac{(3)}{2}]$ (a) Except as required by Subsection $[\frac{(3)}{2}]$ (5)(b), as terms of current
96	commission members expire, the governor shall appoint each new member or reappointed
97	member to a three-year term.
98	(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection [ $(3)$ ] $(5)$ (a), the governor shall, at
99	the time of appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of
100	commission members are staggered so that approximately one-third of the commission is
101	appointed every year.
102	[(4)] (6) When a vacancy occurs in the membership [for any reason], the replacement
103	shall be appointed for the unexpired term.
104	[(5)] (7) A member appointed by the governor may not serve more than two
105	consecutive terms.
106	[(6)] (8) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service,
107	but may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
108	(a) Section 63A-3-106;
109	(b) Section 63A-3-107; and
110	(c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and
111	63A-3-107.
112	[ <del>(7) (a) The lieutenant governor is the chair of the commission.</del> ]
113	[(b) The commission shall select a vice chair from among its members.]
114	Section 3. Section <b>9-1-805</b> is amended to read:
115	9-1-805. Election of officers.
116	[The officers of the commission shall be chair, vice chair, secretary, and treasurer. All
117	officers shall be elected by the voting commission members from among the members of the
118	commission and] (1) The voting members of the commission shall elect a chair and a
119	vice-chair from among the voting members of the commission.
120	(2) The chair and vice-chair shall serve for a term of one year. [Vacancies in any office

- 4 -